Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Holiday Hors d’oeuvres + The List

I really should be doing lots of different things right now, but I’ve made myself a cup of Tazo Zen tea and now I’m at my laptop.  Old Christmas songs are playing in the background {think Bing Crosby and Doris Day} and a remote control vehicle just whizzed right by me.  I’m going over recipes, already thinking about what to prepare for dinner for both Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.

On another note, my oldest son recently declared that he’s done with turkey for this year.  This could be a problem as we have a lot leftover from Thursday’s big dinner.

Here’s what I probably should be doing right now (also known as, “the list”):

finalizing Christmas card design

running address labels

making three beds

putting away clean laundry

or emptying the dishwasher

Instead, I’m posting this delicious recipe for olive-cherry bruschetta.  We had this on Thanksgiving while waiting for our turkey to finish roasting.  Oh, I loved it.  It’s a sweet-salty-tart combination and there’s goat cheese.  I knew when I fumbled through the pages of this month’s bhg, I was going to have to try this reader-recipe.

It won’t take you any time to put together and you can adapt it to suit your tastes or what’s in your pantry.  I altered the originial recipe {only slightly} out of necessity, but I’m certain it is delightful just as written.

Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees F. Place 3/4-inch slices of baguette onto foil.  Brush with 4 tbsp olive oil and season lightly with salt.  Place on middle oven rack (on heavy-duty aluminum foil) and bake about 5 minutes or until crisp and light golden brown.

To make tapanade: combine 1 cup of sliced pimiento stuffed Manzanilla olives; 2 tbsp olive oil, 1/2 cup dried tart cherries, chopped; 1/4 cup minced red onion; 1 tsp finely shredded lime peel and 2 tsp fresh lime juice.

 To assemble, spread goat cheese onto crostini.  You’ll need 6 ounces of goat cheese for the entire recipe.

Next, top with pieces of prosciutto.  You’ll need about 2 ounces thinly sliced prosciutto, cut into 32 pieces.

Finally top with olive-cherry tapanade.  I garnished mine with some chopped flat-leaf parsley, however, the original calls for snipped, fresh chives.

I hope you’ll try this one.  We thought it was delicious!  You can find the original recipe here.

 

Olive-Cherry Bruschetta

Ingredients

32 3/4-inch-thick slices rustic baguette-style sourdough bread

6 tbsp olive oil

Kosher salt

1 cup pimiento stuffed Manzanilla olives, sliced

1/2 cup Kalamata olives, chopped

1/2 cup dried tart cherries, chopped

1/4 cup red onion, finely minced

1 tsp finely shredded lime peel

2 tsp fresh lime juice

6 ounces goat cheese

2 ounces thinly sliced prosciutto

3 tbsp flat leaf parsley, chopped

Method

Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees F.  Place baguette slices onto a piece of heavy duty aluminum foil.  Brush slices with 4 tbsp olive oil and season lightly with salt.  Place on middle oven rack and bake about 5 minutes or until light golden brown.

For tapenade: in a medium bowl stir together the remaining 2 tbsp olive oil, olives, cherries, red onion, lime peel and lime juice.

To assemble: spread goat cheese onto the crostini.  Top with the prosciutto and olive-cherry tapenade.  Sprinkle with chopped parsley.

Yield: 32 slices

Recipe adapted from Olive -Cherry Bruschetta recipe, Better Homes and Gardens, November 2011.

 

Sharing with:

At The Picket Fence

Savvy Southern Style

French Country Cottage

2805

Ekat’s Kitchen

