Tags

, , , , , , ,

We spent the day before Christmas checking things off of our list.  There was last minute shopping by each of my boys for gifts for one another {I guess they really do love each other}.  Their was homemade card making.  I mailed my last Christmas card to a cousin in Nebraska {sorry, Kait…I do love you}.  Ironing button-down shirts (the plaid variety) for the boys.  More water for our Christmas tree.  And, a few more finishing touches on our mantle with sprigs of fresh-cut holly and pine.

 And after our Christmas Eve church service we came home and I took out the panini press as I always do to make sandwiches and I also made pork involtini.  Classically, involtini is made with thinly cut veal, but in my version I use pork tenderloin and stuff it with fresh breadcrumbs, prosciutto, and shallots.

Kitchen twine comes in handy to hold the little bundles together while browning them in a large skillet with olive oil.

I do love preparing a small Italian feast on Christmas Eve, though we don’t typically do the Feast of the Seven Fishes {traditional Italian Christmas Eve dinner featuring seven seafood courses} though perhaps we’ll adopt that tradtion in 2012.

For now, I’m still tidying up our home.  All nearly all the wrapping, ribbons, bubble wrap and boxes has been carted away or neatly stored for next year {I have a hard time parting with beautiful ribbon} and new toys are finding their way into the playroom.  Our sweet dog, Abby is enjoying some new treats and a new toy {thanks, Mom} and this year we found out that Abby has an affinity for candy canes and gingerbread cookies.  Thankfully, she survived both Christmas treats and is back to her Iams dog food and an occasional doggy treat of the non-candy variety.

Pork Involtini

Ingredients

5 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil

2 ounces of prosciutto, diced

1 shallot, minced

6 tbsp fresh bread crumbs

 1 tbsp fresh sage leaves, minced

1 extra large egg, lightly beaten

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

8 slices of pork tenderloin

all-purpose flour

1 cup dry white wine

2 tbsp water

2 tbsp unsalted butter

Method

Heat 3 tbsp olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add the prosciutto and shallot and saute until the shallots are soft and translucent and the prosciutto is just beginning to brown.  Add the bread crumbs and continue to saute until the shallots and prosciutto are incorporated into the breadcrumbs, about 2-3 minutes.

Transfer the mixture to a bowl and add the minced sage and egg, mixing well.  Season with salt and pepper.

Pound the sliced pork tenderloin with the flat side of a meat mallet to a little less than 1/8-inch thick.  Divide the filling evenly among the 8 slices and roll up fairly tightly, securing with kitchen twine.

Add flour to a shallow dish and dredge pork bundles in flour, tapping off excess.  Wipe the skillet out with pape towel.  Add remaining olive oil to skillet over medium-high heat.  Brown pork bundles in hot oil on all sides.  Transfer to clean platter.  Add wine and water to skillet and raise heat, bringing up mixture to a boil while scraping any browned bits from pan.  Remove from heat after 1 minute.  Whisk in butter.  Return pork bundles (involtini) to skillet and coat in wine-butter sauce.  Serve immediately.

Serves: 4

Tomorrow I hope to share a few of our Christmas moments {some of which are making me smile as I think of them} and a bit of decorating around our home.  Enjoy your evening…I plan to curl up with a book and my husband.

