Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Another year has come and gone is nearly gone.  My kids are fast asleep and we’re trying to stay up to watch the ball drop in NYC, though I’m not convinced we’re going to make it that far.

When I looked over Main St. Cuisine’s top 25 posts for 2011 {don’t worry, I’m not going to post them all here} I was a little surprised at how this blog has evolved over the last 12 months.  I suppose that’s what naturally happens when you’re cooking and writing about it.  I’ve shared a little more of myself, my family and my inspirations.  I’ve talked about the recipes I prepare for my family, some of which are met with smiles and others of which are fantastic flops.  {Just being honest.}

Most of all, thank you to those that have taken the time to comment, send emails and to others who stop by.  I DO appreciate it.  Really.

So, here are the top 5 posts from 2011.  I’ll be sharing the top 5 baking posts sometime next week.

 I served Olive-Cherry Bruschetta before Thanksgiving dinner {totally unnecessary based on the turkey extravaganza that was coming} and we loved the salty and sweet of the olives and dried cherries, not to mention the goat cheese.  This would be great served at a cocktail party. 

One morning I whipped up Sweet Apple Chicken Sausage and Teeny Tiny Roasted Potatoes and my husband declared that he totally loved it.  All of the ingredients are from Trader Joes and I have seen so many blog posts on those little potatoes over the last several months.  If you haven’t tried them yet, put them on your shopping list next week or sometime in 2012!

Apparently, many of you are fans of a good roast.  Nothing beats the smell of this Beef Shoulder Roast cooking in your kitchen.  It is hearty and totally satisfying, especially during the winter.

I’m not lying when I say I could eat a bowl of pasta three times a week.  Toss it with garden-fresh tomatoes and some good quality olive oil and I’m totally happy.  This recipe for Uncooked Cherry Tomato sauce was one of my most viewed posts during the summer and was a great way to use up a bumper crop of tomatoes.

Finally, a recipe for Peach Mango Salsa and confession #2, I’d probably count this {or any salsa} as one of my mini-food obsessions.  I could just eat salsa and chips for a meal and be totally content.  Sigh.

Wishing you and your family the very best in 2012,

