Tags

, , , , , ,

 I hope you’re not scratching your head and wondering why I’m sharing a recipe with frisée, but I’m taking a break {it will be a short} from sweets and other homemade confections for at least a couple of weeks.  Somehow a salad with frilly, peppery frisée seemed just right this afternoon and I love this “melange,” which includes radicchio and baby arugula.

I adore grapefruit.  I mean really love it.  So anything with grapefruit in it sounds especially wonderful.  Actually, anything with citrus is a favorite.  For example, if we lived near each other and you called me and said you had just pulled lemon bars from your oven and would I like some?  I would say quite clearly, “Absolutely, come on over!”  Of course, that would be totally opposite of my “take in less sweets plan,” so call me in February.

The original recipe is from Better Homes and Gardens and I made a few changes, starting with the fact that I made it just for myself (1 serving).  So, the recipe below reflects the changes I made and serves only 1 person.  You can take a look at the original recipe here, which serves 4.

I did all of my grocery shopping at The Fresh Market.  And, I was so happy when I saw this beautiful, ripe avocado.  You’ll need just half of 1 avocado for this recipe, however, I’ll be putting a few slices onto my turkey sandwich tomorrow afternoon. {just in case your were curious}

Cut half of the avocado into bite-sized (about 1 1/2-inch) pieces.

Cut a pink grapefruit in half.  Reserve the remaining grapefruit half other half for the juice you’ll need to make the simple vinaigrette.

I used my handy grapefruit sectioner (is that the right term for this tool?) to section the grapefruit.  It’s a wonderful little tool, but if you don’t have one, do not fret a paring knife will work as well.  From the reserved grapefruit half, remove about 3 sections for the finished salad.

In a small mixing bowl, add 2 tbsp of fresh grapefruit juice (from reserved grapefruit half), 1 tbsp of extra-virgin olive oil and the 3/4 cup of frisée melange adding salt and black pepper to taste.

Here’s another look at the finished salad.  To assemble, place the grapefruit half in a bowl, add the dressed greens, chopped avocado and a few grapefruit sections.  Add the mint just before serving.

And, just in case serving a grapefruit half with the salad isn’t your thing, you could section the grapefruit and toss with the avocado, greens and mint.

Grapefruit and Avocado with Frisée Melange

Ingredients

half of 1 ripe avocado

1 pink grapefruit

3/4 cup of frisée melange (Earthbound Farms makes this; find in produce aisle)

4 or 5 leaves of fresh mint

2 tbsp of grapefruit juice (from the other half of the grapefruit)

3/4 tbsp of extra-virgin olive oil

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

Method

 Cut a ripe avocado in half, remove peel and cut into 1 1/2-inch sections.  Cut the grapefruit in half and section just 1 half.    Remove about 3 or 4 sections from the other half.  Set aside.

In a small mixing bowl add the frisée melange, the grapefruit juice, olive oil, toss and then season to taste with salt and black pepper.

To assemble, place the grapefruit half in a bowl, add the dressed greens, chopped avocado and the grapefruit sections.  Garnish with mint.  Leave 1 or 2 leaves whole and chop the remaining 2 or 3.  Serve immediately.

Serves: 1

