Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Sunday breakfasts deserve a bit of extra attention, don’t you think?   The rest of the week we spend running around, getting the kids off to school, shuttling those same kids to multiple sports practices, friends coming over to play and the normal weekly errands.  Of course, it’s not all bad but it’s busy.

But Sundays, I truly love.  They’re slower and our time spent together is precious to me.  It’s the only day my husband is typically off from work and our boys look forward to having him home.

My family knows that I usually make something special to enjoy on Sundays (usually after church since I can’t quite get it together and get us out the door that early) and today it was Belgian waffles.

These are the ingredients you’ll need to make the waffles.  This list is so basic, I bet you have everything you need right now {I’m so happy for you, since now you can go make waffles!}.

After you gather up your ingredients.  Get out a large mixing bowl and beat the 2 large eggs with your wire whisk until they’re fluffy.

To the beaten eggs, add 2 cups of all-purpose flour, 1 3/4 cups of milk, 1 tbsp of light brown sugar, 3/4 tsp vanilla extract, 4 tsp baking powder and 1/4 tsp of salt.  I used a good wooden spoon to combine all of those ingredients.

Next, I added the 1/2 cup of unsalted butter which I had melted over low heat and then cooled for about 10 minutes before adding to the batter.

Lastly, I added 1 tsp of pure vanilla extract to the batter and gave a quick stir to incorporate it into the batter.

Here’s a little peek at what my Belgian waffle looked like after the steam stopped and about 5 minutes had passed.  Isn’t she lovely?

 

Belgian Waffles

Ingredients

2 large eggs

2 cups flour

1 3/4 cups milk

1 tbsp light brown sugar

4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted

3/4 tsp pure vanilla extract

Cherry-Maple Butter (recipe follows)

Method

Heat waffle iron.  Beat eggs in a large mixing bowl with wire whisk.  Add the next 5 ingredients and stir just until combined.  Finally, add the melted butter and vanilla and stir until incorporated and batter is smooth.

Pour batter using a ladle, into in the center of your pre-heated waffle iron.  Bake approximately 5-6 minutes until steaming subsides and waffle is light golden brown.  Serve with cherry-maple butter and toasted pecans or as desired.

Yield: 6 Belgian waffles

1/4 cup of unsalted butter at room temperature, and 1 tbsp of minced, dried tart cherries and about 1 tbsp of maple syrup is all you need to make this butter.  Of course, you’ll need even more maple syrup to serve your waffles {at least we did anyway}.

Tart Cherry-Maple Butter

1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened

1 tbsp dried tart cherries, minced

1 tbsp pure maple syrup

Combine all ingredients with a spoon in a small mixing bowl.  Store any unused butter in the refrigerator.

Also, if you’ve never toasted nuts before, here is how I usually do it.  I place the nuts in a heavy-bottomed skillet over medium heat and and swirl them around for a few minutes.  When the nuts become fragrant and you hear just the tiniest sizzle, they are generally done.  As a cautionary note, they can go from toasted to burnt pretty quickly so remove the skillet from the heat and the nuts from the skillet after they are toasted.

And just to make you smile {because I’m smiling already}, here is my basketball player dribbling the ball during his game yesterday.  The kids from the other team towered over him and he was trying to find a player that was open to pass it to.

I love how he totally gets that he’s the shortest one on the court (by far), but he says that being short helps him steal the ball when his team is on defense.  I think finding the good in a situation {or in yourself} is pretty cool at such a young age.

 

I hope you’re having a splendid Sunday too!

 

