Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I love salsa.  Really, I do.  In fact, I love most food items that can be scooped up with a tortilla chip.  If you’re wondering if I love homemade dips {served with tortilla chips}…that is most definitely a yes Ma’am.

I haven’t mentioned this since we rang in twenty-twelve and  the last of my Christmas decor was finally settled back into the attic, but I’d like to lose a few Christmas pounds {that’s what I’ve named them, “the Christmas pounds.”}.

Which brings me to the title of my post {and recipe}.  I mean I haven’t gotten it scientifically verified, but when I eat it, I feel a bit lighter, a little more healthy and bonus, it instantly transports me back to my Southern California roots.  That’s pretty powerful for one little salsa recipe.  Olé!

So here we go.

 

You’ll need to rinse and drain well, 2 15-ounce cans of black beans.  I used organic black beans for this recipe.

I use a lot of green onions in my cooking.  They’re so elegant, aren’t they?  You’ll need about 6 green onions {also known as scallions}, chopped.  Both the white and the green parts.

Chop a 1/2 cup of fresh cilantro.  I typically don’t measure this one and cut away some from the bunch and chop it.

Because I love the color, I chose to use 1/2 of one red bell pepper and 1/2 of one orange bell pepper.  But if you can only find red, just dice a red bell pepper.

At this point, pull out a medium-sized mixing bowl and add your rinsed and drained black beans, 3 jalapeños, minced, the chopped green onions and chopped cilantro.

Add in the diced bell peppers.  At this point, I’m wishing a had a margarita, but that will just have to wait. Ughhh.

Add 3 minced garlic cloves.

Finally, add in the juice of 2 limes and 1 tbsp of extra-virgin olive oil.  Stir to combine.  Taste and then add Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper.

Just to be festive, I hollowed out the remaining bell pepper halves and scooped some of the finished salsa into each one.  Of course, you could simply put it into a nice bowl to serve alongside your tortilla chips.

Black Bean Salsa

Ingredients

2 15-ounce cans of black beans, drained and rinsed

3  jalapeños, minced (veins and seeds removed, if desired)

1/2 of one orange bell pepper, diced

1/2 of one red bell pepper, diced

1/2 cup cilantro, chopped

6 green onions, chopped, white and green parts

3 cloves garlic, minced

juice of 2 limes

1 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

Method

Combine all ingredients in a medium mixing bowl and combine well.  Serve with tortilla chips.

Yield: 5 cups of salsa

 

I hope you had a wonderful week.  I’ll be back tomorrow with another salsa recipe.

