Tags

, , , , , ,

So here we are in North Carolina and it’s been the craziest weather.  It is literally something different everyday and it’s been that way all winter long.  We haven’t had a single snow event, which I think is what our weather man calls it when it snows here  {which sort of makes it sounds like a party}, but we’ve had a little bit of this and that.  Rain and 30 degrees one day and then a few days later it’s nearly 70 and I’m quickly fishing out a pair of flip flops because it feels like spring has sprung, which of course it hasn’t.

One teeny problem with flip flops in February, you may ask?  Some pretty polish was needed, of course.

All of this flip-flopping weather {pun intended} has put me in the mood for more warm weather fare like the rosemary lemon orzo pilaf I posted last week.  But then we hit a little snag in our spring-like weather with 31 degrees and that changes almost immediately what I plan to cook for our family.

That brings me to this corn chowder recipe, which I did my absolute hardest to “lighten up” just a bit {remember the Christmas pounds I shared here?}.  The original recipe for this chowder is from Whole Foods.  I didn’t see this recipe on their site, but let me know if you’re able to find it.

In a large stockpot, brown 1 lb of sweet Italian sausage (though use the spicy sausage if you prefer more heat) with 3 minced garlic cloves and a 1/2 cup of chopped onions over medium heat.

While the sausage, onion and garlic are browning in the stockpot, prepare the rest of the ingredients.

Peel and cube 3 potatoes.  I’d also use Yukon gold potatoes in this chowder, which I think would be delicious.

Next, add 1/4 cup of all-purpose flour to the browned sausage and stir well to combine.  Cook for an additional 2 minutes over medium heat while stirring constantly.  The flour will help the soup to thicken once the liquid is added.

Add the cubed potatoes, the 16-ounce package of frozen corn (no need to thaw), 4 cups of milk and 1 cup of half and half.

Stir to combine all of the ingredients, raise the heat and bring to a boil.  Then reduce heat to low and simmer for an hour.  Stir occasionally and keep an eye out that you have a true simmer (there’s nothing worse than finding a layer of burnt milk on the bottom of your stock pot, not that that’s ever happened to me). Wink.

Season with Kosher salt and black pepper to taste before serving.  I garnished mine with a single leaf of parsley, but sliced green onions would be perfect as well.

 

Corn Chowder

Ingredients

1 lb of bulk sweet Italian turkey sausage

3 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 cup onions, chopped

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

4 cups milk

1 cup half and half

3 medium baking potatoes, peeled and cubed

1 16-ounce package of frozen corn

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to tate

green onion or fresh Italian parsley to garnish (optional)

Method

In a large stockpot, brown sausage, garlic and onion over medium heat until cooked through; drain well.  Return to pan and add flour; mix well and cook for an additional 2 minutes, stir constantly.

Add milk, half and half, potatoes and corn to sausage mixture and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to low and simmer for 1 hour.

Season to taste with salt and black pepper.  Ladle soup into bowls and garnish with sliced green onions of Italian parsley.

Serves: 4 as a main dish

 

I hope you’re having a wonderful week.  I have a few more posts planned this week and I will share some plans for Valentine’s Day, including homemade Valentines and some cute cupcakes.

