Tags

, , , , , , , ,

It’s Friday and the end of a long, long week {but, that’s for another post}.  On the very bright side…it’s summer in March and we haven’t even officially hit the first day of spring yet.  As Heather reminded me yesterday, this could be a very hot summer before we even launch into those sticky summer months here in the southeastern part of the United States.

I’m not quite sure I’m ready for all that, especially since we’re a baseball family and baseball is of course played outside.  Baseball season is in full swing at our home and in fact, last weekend my older son’s team kicked off their spring season with their first tournament.  All of the families brought food so we could grill in between games and set up a buffet for everyone to eat (desserts too).  I brought my favorite dip, which I’ve been making for 5 or 6 years now.  Talk about easy and people love it.

Ina mentions that she serves whiskey sours along with this dip when her guests arrive. But because I’m in the South, I thought it would be more appropriate to make these yummy grapefruit bourbon sours.  I think my guests would really love them.

So, if you’ll kindly grab your sharpest knife, a good cutting board and of course your food processor, we’ll get started.

Chop 3/4 cup of scallions (about 3).  I also chop a little extra to use as a garnish, but that’s totally optional.  Or, a little extra dill to garnish.  I’ll leave that to you and your creativity.

I am a huge fan of parsley.  Have I mentioned that before?  I try to put it into basically everything I cook.  If you ever come over for dinner {which I’d love by the way}, be on the look out for fresh parsley.  I’m almost certain it will appear in something on your dinner plate.

Chop 1/4 cup of fresh flat-leaf (Italian) parsley.

Place 8 ounces of room temperature cream cheese, 1/2 cup of room temperature sour cream, 1/2 cup of mayonnaise, the chopped scallions, parsley, 1 tbsp of fresh dill, 1 tsp of Kosher salt and 1/4 tsp of freshly ground black pepper into the bowl of your food processor fitted with the steel blade.

Pulse 10 to 12 times, until just blended, but not puréed.  Serve at room temperature.

I love to serve this with sliced English cumbers and grape tomatoes, but all manner of pretty vegetables will go nicely with this dip.

I found this article from House Beautiful where they interview Ina and she’s discussing her best tips for throwing intimate dinner parties and coincidentally, she also shares this dip recipe.

I can’t quite put my finger on it, but I feel like she would be a really lovely person to just sit and chat with (like in her backyard in East Hampton) over a good cup of French press coffee.  That would be fun.

You can find Ina’s original recipe right here.

Green Herb Dip

Recipe taken from barefoot contessa at home by Ina Garten

Ingredients

8 ounces cream cheese at room temperature

1/2 cup sour cream at room temperature

1/2 cup good mayonnaise

3/4 cup chopped scallions, white and green parts (3 scallions)

1/4 cup chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley

1 tbsp chopped fresh dill

1 tsp Kosher salt

1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper

Method

Place cream cheese, sour cream, mayonnaise, scallions, parsley, dill, salt and pepper in the bowl of food processor fitted with the steel blade.  Pulse 10 10 12 times, until just blended, but not pureed.  Serve at room temperature.

Yield: 2 cups

