Tags

, , , , , , ,

This week has just flown by.  I had a list written out as long as my right arm and I’ve been frantically working my way down it before we leave for San Diego.  For some reason I like to add all manner of household chores to the pre-trip list {I’m not sure why I do this}.  Things like give the dog a bath.  Wash out the vegetable drawers in the refrigerator.  Put away the winter clothes and hopefully find partners for the mittens and gloves.

I’m not sure why I do that before a trip, but I sure wish I could recapture the way I traveled when I was in my 20’s.  Just pack everything 2 hours before leaving for the airport.  Bed unmade.  Breakfast dishes on the counter and a half-filled mug of coffee in the bathroom.  Those were good times.

Truthfully I’m not too sure how to transition from my packing rituals to these tasty tacos. But here it goes.  Those delicious citrusy black beans have made several appearances this past week and this is their last hurrah!   Today’s recipe is super simple (I’m too busy working on that list for anything too complicated) and involves roasting sweet potatoes, which I adore.

I think that most of our country’s sweet potatoes are grown right here in North Carolina, so in a way this little recipe combines a little bit of the South with one of my favorite type of cuisine:  Mexican.

I gave this little sweet potato a good scrub before chopping him into fairly uniformly sized pieces.  I wanted to leave the skin on, but feel free to peel your sweet potato before roasting if you prefer.  And, you’ll only need 1 sweet potato for this recipe.

Drizzle about a 1/2 tablespoon of good quality olive oil over the chopped sweet potato.  Add a couple of pinches of Kosher (or coarse) salt and then toss to combine.  I used an oven-proof skillet (or use a baking sheet) and place into an oven which has been preheated to 400 degrees.  Roast for about 20 minutes.

Here’s that beautiful chopped sweet potato after it came out of the oven.  It’s possible that I stood there with my fork “testing” a few pieces to be sure they were done.  But, I’m not going to admit that here.

To assemble your tacos, you’ll need 4 corn tortillas.  Use about 1/3 cup of of the citrusy black beans and then divide the roasted sweet potato among each of the 4 tortillas.  A sprinkle of finely chopped red onion (scant 1/4 cup total) and some fresh, flat leaf parsley.  I used a small sprig of fresh parsley for each taco.

To pick up the citrus flavors in the black beans, I garnished both plates with a couple of wedges of fresh lime, but that is completely optional.

Roasted Sweet Potato and Black Bean Tacos

Ingredients

1 sweet potato, scrubbed and cut into uniform-sized pieces

About 1/2 tbsp of extra-virgin olive oil

Kosher salt

4 corn tortillas

1 1/3 cup of citrusy black beans, click here for recipe

A scant 1/4 cup of finely chopped red onion

4 sprigs of fresh flat leaf parsley, stems discarded

wedges of lime, optional

Method

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Cut sweet potato into approximately 1/2-inch dice  (uniformity is the key here).  Toss with the olive oil and 1 or 2 pinches of Kosher salt.  Place into an oven-proof skillet or onto a baking dish and roast in preheated oven for about 20 minutes.

To assemble tacos:  place 1/3 cup of the black beans down the center of each corn tortilla.  Divide the still warm roasted sweet potato among the 4 tortillas.  Sprinkle with the red onion and top each taco with the leaves of 1 sprig of parsley.  Serve with wedges of lime if desired.

Serves: 2 (2 tacos per serving)

Thanks for indulging me and my love of Mexican food with this week’s recipes.  I’ve got one very simple salsa recipe to share tomorrow and a few of my favorite sites in San Diego too.

Enjoy your Sunday!

