Tags

, , , , , ,

Will you allow me one last recipe featuring my beloved Mexican food?  Oh, thank you.  I promise I’m going to talk a little bit about this lovely avocado salsa in a minute, but first a few words (and a couple of photos) about two of my favorite spots in San Diego.

This is the view from Birch Aquarium near the campus of UCSD.  It overlooks La Jolla Shores and you can see the heart of La Jolla (also known as the jewel of San Diego County) in the distance.  If you look carefully in the bottom right-hand corner of the photo you’ll see the surfers sitting on their boards.

Pretty, no?

I’ve spent a lot of time at Balboa Park over the years…visiting museums, watching live theatre at the Old Globe and even a 5K race or two (I just made myself giggle when I typed that).  The San Diego Botanical Garden is in the background and as you approach it, you walk along this huge man-made pond, where Koi fish swim in and around the lily pads.  I love to visit this part of the park and on the weekends you’ll see several brides being photographed here, all manner of street performers and it also makes for terrific people watching.

Now, I’d like to have the attention of all the avocado lovers out there.  The kind who wish they had a big tree that carefully shed her wonderful fruit just when you were in the mood to make guacamole.  Yes, I had such a tree in the courtyard of a house I lived in while attending San Diego State (Go Aztecs!).  Free avocados taste really good because well, they’re free and I didn’t have a large food budget back in the college days, as I’m sure many of you can relate.

I remember the first time I saw avocado (in guacamole form), I was probably 10 and we had just moved from New York to San Diego.  We were sitting in a little outdoor cafe in the middle of Old Town San Diego and I’m fairly certain I wanted know part of that guacamole.  Chips?  Yes.  Gaucamole?  No, thank you.

But over the years I have grown to love avocado, especially when it is being transformed (table side) into guacamole and then gets scooped up by a still-warm tortilla chip.

Love. Love. Love.

Avocado Salsa

Ingredients

1 ripe avocado, peeled and cut into 1/2 – 3/4-inch cubes

1 large or two small Roma tomatoes, seeded and chopped

1/3 cup red onion, minced

1 small jalapeno, seeds removed and minced

Kosher or coarse salt

Method

Place first 4 ingredients into a bowl.  Add salt to taste and gently toss to combine.  Serve immediately.

Have a wonderful couple of weeks everyone!  I’ll be trying to check in periodically, but if you don’t hear from me or I’m not responding to comments it’s because I’m being serenaded by a live Mariachi band, while sipping a margarita on the rocks with salt.

More likely, I’ll just be catching up with good friends and family over a glass of wine.

