Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’m certain that most of you have roasted fresh broccoli at least once.  Roasting is one of my favorite ways to prepare just about any vegetable and I enjoy it during the summer months as much as I do during the cooler times of the year.

As you know, I’m in San Diego right now and several days before we left on our trip I was going through the refrigerator to try use up what was in there.  And  there it was.  One head of broccoli hiding underneath the bag of carrots and a few stray Granny Smith apples.

I just couldn’t leave it there to die a slow painful death.  I also knew my husband would in no way be enjoying it while we were gone.  So, I heated up the oven and set to work.

As you know this is quite easy.  There is no way to mess this up.  Absolutely no way.  And, I also know (because of my general kitchen optimism), that you have a lemon, garlic cloves and olive oil handy.  So with that, let’s begin.

Cut your head of broccoli into florets.  Those really big florets should be cut in half, so that the florets are pretty uniform in size.  Rinse them under cool water and pat dry.

Toss the broccoli with 2 cloves of sliced garlic, 1/2-3/4 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil and Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper.  Adjust seasonings according to your preferences and taste.

While the broccoli is in the oven, zest half of one lemon and juice that half too.  Save the other half for something else, such as, garnishing your iced tea.

Once you remove the baking sheet, toss the broccoli with the lemon juice and the zest.  Instead of serving on a small platter, a place a single serving onto individual appetizer plates.

I think this makes a great side dish especially when entertaining since there are so few ingredients.  You may also want to add crumbled feta or even toasted pine nuts to the finished broccoli.  That sounds really good too.

You know, roasted broccoli would also be great served alongside some brown rice.  That’s something I’d probably make myself for lunch.  I try to always keep brown rice in my (slightly disorganized) pantry.

Note to self…organize the pantry when I return from my trip.

So, how about you.  How do you normally serve roasted vegetables?  And, what are your favorites to prepare using that method?

Roasted Broccoli

Ingredients

1 head of broccoli

2 cloves of garlic, sliced

1/2 -3/4 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

zest and juice of half of a lemon

Method

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Wash the broccoli and pat dry.  Cut into florets.  Toss with 1/2 to 3/4 tbsp of olive oil, depending on the size of the head of broccoli.  Toss broccoli with sliced garlic and Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper.  Roast broccoli for 20 minutes, checking half-way through to ensure that garlic isn’t browning.

Remove broccoli from the oven and transfer to serving platter.  Toss with fresh lemon juice and zest.  Serve immediately.

Serves: 3 to 4 as a side dish

