Tags

, , , , , , ,

peach glazed chicken

I am on a perpetual culinary search for two things:

1. Serving  nutritious meals to my family that I can accomplish with minimal fuss, particularly on a weeknight

2. Adding variety to our dinner menu

Do you (like me) appreciate a main dish recipe with an abbreviated ingredient list?  If we were together right now, you might say, “Yes, of course!”  And then you might roll your eyes at me.

Sadly we’re not together so I’m just going to assume that you may be looking for a simple, weeknight dinner that will be a hit with the junior eaters in your home.  I think this is that recipe.

As a side note:  can you tell that I’ve used an Emile Henry roasting pan for this recipe?  I wish I had  taken a better photo for you after it came out of the oven.  For years, I’ve had a little crush on these French pans.

But, because you’re short on time I’m going to skip directly to this 5-ingredient dinner.  I made mine with bone-in chicken breasts, but thighs or legs would work just as well.

minced shallot and garlic

To begin, preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  You’ll need 1 minced shallot and 2 minced garlic cloves.

preparing peach glaze

In a small bowl, stir together the minced shallot and garlic with 1 cup of peach preserves.

squeezing fresh lemon over chicken

Place the chicken into a baking dish and squeeze the juice of 1 lemon over the chicken.  Next, season with kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper.

spoon peach glaze over chicken

Spoon the peach glaze over the chicken breasts and bake, uncovered for about 1 hour or until a meat thermometer inserted into the thickest part of the breast registers 165 degrees.

If you crave some heat, I could see adding a chopped chipotle pepper to the glaze before baking.  The extra spice would not be met with smiling faces around the dinner table, but I encourage you to try it.   In fact, I think next time I will make a separate peach-chipotle glaze just for my husband and I.  Brilliant.

Let me know how else you would make this simple glaze work for your family.  I love hearing your ideas.


Peach Glazed Chicken

Ingredients

4 bone-in chicken breasts

juice of 1 lemon

kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

1 shallot, minced

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 cup peach preserves

Method

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Place chicken into a baking dish.  Squeeze the juice of 1 lemon over the chicken.  Season the chicken with salt and black pepper.  In a small bowl, stir together the minced shallot and minced garlic with the peach preserves.  Spoon over the chicken breasts.

Bake uncovered for 1 hour or until a meat thermometer inserted into the thickest part of the breast registers 165 degrees.

Serves: 4

Allison

