Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

oatmeal chocolate chip cookiesMy friends, all of this talk of dreary, wintry weather has put me in the mood for baking.

I actually wish it was snowing this morning instead of raining.  Did I just say that?

If I lived on the pages of a magazine, I would love to be out on the front porch, wearing my Ugg boots and corduroys, wrapped tightly in a wool Pendleton blanket, eating these oatmeal-chocolate chip cookies and sipping hot chocolate.

Magazine daydreaming aside, what I really wanted was a tart-sweet lemon bar.

But, with only one lemon nestled in among all my pretty oranges, the lemon bars were not to be.

My littles likened these to a chocolate chip granola bar, which I think was due to a teaspoon of cinnamon I added to the batter.

My husband walked off with a dozen or so to take to the office this morning, which made me quite happy.

I tucked one or two into each lunch box, but there are still plenty to enjoy on the counter.

I can see myself snacking on one each time I go into the kitchen today.

toasting pecans in a skillet

I spent a few minutes toasting 1 cup of pecans in a dry skillet.  I used the stove top method, which involves constantly stirring the pecans until they begin to smell “toasty,” their color begins to darken just slightly and you can faintly here a “sizzle” sound.  I do this over medium heat.

adding chocolate chips and pecans to the batter

After I mixed the batter in my stand mixer I added 1 1/2 cups of semisweet chocolate chips and the toasted pecans.  I mixed on a low speed just until combined, stopping to scrape down the sides.

oatmeal chocolate chip cookies on baking sheet

I used a cookie scoop so that I would get a uniform-looking cookie once they came out of the oven.  Lining my baking sheets with a Silpat ensured that they could be easily removed to wire racks to finish cooling.

oatmeal chocolate chip cookies on baking sheet

Here’s another look at the baking sheet just before they went into a 375 degree oven.  At this point I think Miss Abby wondered if these were going to be appetizers prior to one of her meals.

oatmeal chocolate chip cookies

And voilà, the finished cookies.  They took about 9 minutes in my oven, however, I would recommend checking on them at about the 8 minute mark.

I think these do especially well in a large (it makes about 4 dozen) glass cookie jar on your counter top.

That way, we can both snack on them throughout the day (I don’t want to be the only cookie snacker out there).

Oatmeal-Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients

1 cup butter, room temperature

3/4 cup granulated sugar 

3/4 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar

2 large eggs

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

2 pinches of sea salt

1 cup uncooked quick-cooking oats

1 cup semisweet chocolate morsels

1 cup chopped pecans, toasted

Method

In the bowl of a stand mixer, add the butter and both sugars beating until fluffy.  Add the eggs and vanilla and beat well.

Combine the flour with the baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon and salt using a wire whisk.  Gradually adding it to the butter-sugar mixture and beating well.

Stir in the quick-cooking oats and then add the chocolate morsels and toasted pecans.  Using a rubber spatula to scrape down the sides to make sure the chocolate morsels and pecans are evenly distributed throughout the batter.

Drop the dough onto Silpat-lined baking sheets using a small cookie scoop.  Bake in a 375 degree oven 8-9 minutes.  Cool for 3 minutes on the baking sheet and then remove to wire rack to finish cooling.

Yield: 4 dozen

Allison

 

 

 

