Tags

, , , , , , , ,

CB introI think we know each other well enough by now to know that here on Main St. things move just a little slower than the rest of blogland.

While other bloggers are able to get out posts daily (I so wish I could), I prefer the 3 to 4 post a week method.  And, sometimes even less.

While all of my blogging idols can share ideas and inspiration well before an actual holiday takes place, I often share mine a week or so later.  Sometimes a lot later.

I keep thinking that this will be the year that I plan well in advance, but so far 2013 is surely not allowing that to happen.

The year is still in its infancy, so maybe I’ll pull it together before the 4th of July.

Just maybe.

corned beef and sauteed cabbage

I found this recipe on Simply Recipes (one of the aforementioned blogging idols) and it sounded like the perfect meal to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day and a little more interesting than just boiling the corned beef.

honey mustard topped corned beef

Here’s a look at the sweet hot honey mustard topping with plenty of brown sugar on top of the mustard.  You can’t really see them, but the corned beef has been studded with whole cloves.

The prepared corned beef is wrapped in foil, placed into a shallow roasting pan and then baked in a 350 degree oven for 2 hours.

It was perfection.

sauteed cabbage

Elise also shared a recipe for sautéed cabbage which is simply 1 head of cabbage, olive oil, 1 garlic clove, 1 yellow onion and salt.

I loved this.  It was simple, but so good and the perfect accompaniment to her baked corned beef.

baked corned beef and sauteed cabbage

You can visit Simply Recipes and click here for both recipes.  And, although corned beef can be a challenge to find in the market once St. Patrick’s Day is over, I plan to make the sautéed cabbage again to accompany grilled pork chops.

I hope your week is off to a great start!

Allison

 

 

