Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

asparagus and fontina cheeseToday was a perfect day.

Have you ever had one of those?

I hadn’t had one in awhile, but I recognized it as soon as it unfolded in front of me.

It started with the most beautiful sunrise and a hot cup of coffee in hand.

After sitting a bit on my front porch and smelling the scents that only spring can bring, I made cinnamon rolls for my littles.  They love cinnamon rolls.

There were two baseball practices today and we had the most perfect weather for 4 hours of baseball.

In between baseball practices, I made freshly brewed ice tea.  It was so good.

We attended a BBQ this evening and I tasted the most wonderful macaroni salad…twice.

When we headed home there was just a slight chill in the air and I slipped on my favorite blue linen jacket.

My boys got ready for bed, read some of their books and went to sleep in freshly changed beds.

What a day.

How about you?  What was your day like?

*sigh*

I almost forgot to tell you about my lunch.

It was this asparagus and fontina cheese quiche.

Confession: I could eat eggs in some form every. single. day.

fresh asparagus

It all began with some fresh asparagus my mother shared with me.  I almost roasted it and then I thought…quiche!

cut asparagus

I cut a pound of quiche thinly and on the bias.  Add 1 tbsp of unsalted butter to a large skillet over medium heat.  Add one chopped shallot and cook for 2 minutes or until just softened; add the asparagus and cook, stirring occasionally, 6-8 minutes.

asparagus in a prepared pie shell

I know I’ve often said that when you’re visiting Main St., you are in a no-judgement zone, so I’m hoping you won’t judge me when I tell you that you are looking at a prepared pie shell from the freezer section of my local Harris-Teeter grocery store.

Just being honest with you.

I added 3/4 cup of freshly shredded fontina cheese to the bottom of the pie shell and then added the sauteed shallots and asparagus on top.

asparagus and fontina quiche

Lastly, whisk together 4 large eggs and 1 1/4 cup of half and half.  Add a 1/2 tsp of kosher salt, an 1/8 tsp of ground black pepper and a couple of gratings of fresh nutmeg.  Whisk again and then pour into the pie shell.

I reserved 5 asparagus spears and used 5 slices of a Pearl tomato to decorate the top of the quiche before baking it in a 350 degree oven for 55 minutes.

asparagus and fontina quiche

I also made a second quiche for mom and here’s what that one looked like.

asparagus and fontina quiche

Here’s one last look at the finished quiche.  I thoroughly enjoyed my lunch today and my freshly brewed iced tea.

I adapted this recipe from Martha Stewart.

Asparagus and Fontina Quiche

Ingredients

1 tablespoon butter
1 medium shallot, chopped
kosher salt and ground black pepper
1 bunch (1 pound) asparagus, tough ends removed, thinly sliced on the bias
4 large eggs
1 1/4 cups half-and-half
Freshly ground nutmeg
1 frozen deep dish pie crust, defrosted in the refrigerator
3/4 cup shredded fontina cheese

Method

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, with rack in lowest position. In a large skillet, melt butter over medium. Add shallots and asparagus; season with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring occasionally, until asparagus is crisp-tender, 6 to 8 minutes; let cool.

In a large bowl, whisk together eggs, half-and-half, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/8 teaspoon pepper, and a couple of gratings of nutmeg.

Place pie crust on a rimmed baking sheet. Sprinkle with cheese; top with asparagus mixture. Pour egg mixture on top.

Decorate top of quiche with 5 additional spears of asparagus and 5 slices of tomato, if desired.

Bake until center of quiche is just set, 50 to 60 minutes, rotating sheet halfway through. Let stand 15 minutes before slicing and serving.

Serves: 6

Allison

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

