Tags

, , , , , , , ,

orange scented bbq sauce

Could you use a silly baseball joke this week?  I know I sure could.

So, here it goes.

Why is a baseball team similar to a pancake?

They both need a good batter.

How about another one?  Just for fun.

Why did the police officer go to the baseball field?

Someone stole 2nd base.

We spent our entire weekend on the baseball field.  In a couple of quiet moments, I prayed for Boston.  I didn’t quite know how to pray for an entire city, but I gave it my best shot.

Can I tell you something?

Spending ten hours on a baseball field may cause the following:

  • Make you a little restless or have you pondering the heaps of laundry that still need to be tended to
  • Give you a sore throat from cheering on your team
  • Have you spending insane amounts of money on bottled water at the concession stand
  • Provide you with time to take a nap in your car (in between games) or catch up on your reading
  • Possibly make you hug a complete stranger when a play goes your way

It’s very individual.

So, I can’t promise these things will happen to you or your loved ones.

Of course, those same ten hours will cause you to ignore your blog.

That I can almost guarantee.

So without much fanfare, here is the orange scented bbq sauce (finally) I used for both this delicious recipe and this one too.

chopped onion and garlic

Start by chopping 1 onion (I like to use Vidalia or other sweet onions when i can find them).  Mince 2 garlic cloves as well.

sauteing onions in olive oil

Add 2 tbsp of olive oil to your pot over medium heat.  When the oil is hot, add the onions and cook until softened and translucent.  Add the minced garlic and cook for 1-2 minutes more.

adding ketchup to the cooked onions

Now you’re ready to add 2 cups of ketchup.  I like to lower my heat at this time, so that nothing is splattering all over me or so that my onions don’t start to brown.

adding brown sugar to bbq sauce

Add 1 cup of light or dark brown sugar to the ketchup-onion mixture.

adding cider vinegar to bbq sauce

I like a nice vinegary sauce, so add 1/3 cup of cider vinegar.  You could always leave it out.

adding Worcestershire sauce to bbq sauce

Add 3 tbsp of Worcestershire sauce too.  Love it!

adding ground ginger to bbq sauce

Add 1 tsp each of ground ginger and ground mustard.  Go check your spice cabinet.  I just know you have these.

adding one cup fresh orange juice to bbq sauce

Add 1 cup of freshly squeezed orange juice to the pot.

adding orange zest to bbq sauce

And of course the star ingredient, fresh orange zest from 1 orange.orange scented bbq sauce

Simply stir everything together.  I usually do one stir about half-way through and check your heat.  You want it low enough not to burn anything and your sauce should be at a gentle simmer.  Simmer the sauce for 30 minutes.

Orange Scented BBQ Sauce

Ingredients

2 tbsp olive oil

1 onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

2 cups ketchup

3 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

1/3 cup cider vinegar

1 cup light brown sugar

2 tsp ground ginger

2 tsp ground mustard

zest of 1 orange

1 cup fresh orange juice

Method

In a large pot over medium heat, add olive oil.  When oil is hot add onions, stirring constantly until translucent and softened.  Add garlic and stir for 2 more minutes.

Reduce heat to low.  Add ketchup, Worcestershire sauce, vinegar, brown sugar, ginger and mustard.  Stir until combined.  Add orange zest and juice and stir to incorporate.

Simmer for 30 minutes until thickened and gently bubbling.

Allison

