Tags

, , , , , , , ,

banana walnut muffins how to

 

Last night it was my turn for post-game snack duty.

For those of you who have brought snacks to your son or daughter’s game (or are currently awaiting your turn to do so), you know that what you bring can get some looks or possibly some straight-forward comments from those little ball players.

Just for fun, I told one of the moms I was sitting with that for tonight’s snack I had brought orange slices.

And, I had also brought homemade hummus with roasted cauliflower.

She started laughing since she knew I was kidding.

Of course, she also mentioned that her son would only drink room temperature Evian.

That comment made me break into a fit of giggles.

The best part of our snack humor came when one of the sweet boys wandered out of the dug out during the game to give his mom a hug.

I told him (jokingly) what I had brought for their snack.

He gave me a quizzical look and stopped short of going into the dug out.

He then turned to me and politely asked: “What’s cauliflower?”

We all started laughing.

As it turns out, I brought fruit snacks and cheddar crackers from Whole Foods (my attempt to keep things a little healthy).

The Grasshoppers lost, but were thrilled (I think), not to have to suffer through roasted cauliflower.

banana walnut muffins recipe

Something tells me they may have been okay with these banana-walnut muffins.

I had recently begun looking for a way to use the over-ripe bananas in our fruit bowl and came across this recipe from taste of home.

It was a nice change from banana bread, though I don’t think my family will ever tire of fresh-from-the-oven banana bread.

Especially, with loads of chocolate chips.

These muffins, however, are more portable and great on the run as you’re rushing everyone out the door.

Because it’s such a basic recipe, I may play with it a little and use it as a vehicle for fresh strawberries from our local farm.

banana walnut muffins

Banana-Walnut Muffins

Ingredients

1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup each, brown sugar and granulated sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
3 medium ripe bananas
1 egg
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

*1/3 cup of chopped walnuts (optional)

Method

In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients. In another bowl, mash the bananas. Add egg, oil and vanilla; mix well. Stir into the dry ingredients just until moistened. Fill greased or paper-lined muffin cups half full.  Evenly divide the chopped walnuts among the tops of each filled muffin cup.

Bake at 375° for 18-22 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes; remove from pan to a wire rack to cool completely. 

Yield: 1 dozen

Allison

