Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

egg salad with capers and fresh dill

Right now, I’m trying to impress you.

How am I doing that you might wonder?

By using ingredients like capers.

And, fresh dill.

What I’m really trying to do is show you a lovely (fancied-up) way of making egg salad.

I’ve told you how much I love eggs, right?

I think I did it recently here.

About a year ago I posted an egg salad sandwich recipe and my preparations for a trip to San Diego.

I also shared a technique I learned from Heather over at Sugar Dish Me.

She does this smashing of the yolks thing, that I loved.  It made perfect sense too.

Kind of similar to how you’d prep egg yolks for deviled eggs (love those too).

Anyway, I remembered the “smashing” technique and used that here.

I couldn’t find her recipe over on her site, some I’m hoping (and hinting) that she’ll wander over to Main St. and share the link in the comments.

In the meantime, take a look at how I’ve prepared this egg salad with capers and fresh dill.

I was inspired by this recipe by Ina Garten.

ingredients to make egg saladI have a hunch that even though we’re trying to get fancy today, you already have all you need to prepare this egg salad.

smashing hard boiled eggs with the tines of a fork

I hard boiled 6 eggs by covering them in water.  Bringing the pot to a boil, then lowering the heat to a simmer.  I simmered them for 5 minutes and then let them sit in the pot for an additional 5 minutes before running them under cold water.

I lightly mashed the eggs using a fork.

mashed hard boiled eggs

Here’s a look at the eggs as I was mashing (and smashing) them.

ingredients for egg salad

To the prepared eggs I added 1 tbsp of capers (drained), 1 tsp of whole grain mustard, 1 rib of celery, finely chopped, 3 tbsp of finely chopped red onion, 1 tbsp of chopped fresh dill and a 1/3 cup Light Duke’s mayonnaise.

adding fresh lemon juice to egg salad

Before I stirred everything, I added the juice of half a lemon.

egg salad with capers and fresh dill

Stir everything to incorporate all of the ingredients evenly throughout the egg salad.  Taste and adjust the seasonings with kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper.

egg salad recipe

I plated mine onto a vintage luncheon plate with slices of fresh lemon and additional fresh dill.  I also happily sampled as much as I could before plating it for these photos.

egg salad with fresh dill recipe

I will see you all next week as I’m headed out of town tomorrow for my little cousin’s wedding.  I can’t wait!

 

Egg Salad with Capers and Fresh Dill

Ingredients

6 eggs, hard boiled

1 tbsp capers, drained

1 tsp whole grain mustard

1 rib celery, finely chopped

2 tbsp red onion, finely chopped

1 tbsp fresh dill, chopped

1/3 cup light mayonnaise

juice from half of a lemon

kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

additional fresh dill to use as a garnish (optional)

Method

Use the tines of a fork to mash the eggs.  Add the rest of the ingredients through the lemon juice.  Taste and adjust the seasonings with salt and black pepper.  Garnish with additional fresh dill and/or lemon slices.

Yield: 4 luncheon servings

Allison

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

