Tags

, , , , , , ,

roasted carrots with fresh dillSo, I’m feeling a little old.

After coming back from the wedding of my beautiful, amazing cousin (who is 25, ya’ll) I’m feeling just a bit over the hill.

Have you been to the wedding of a twenty-five year old recently?

They do all sorts things that people who are in their twenties do.

Those are the same things I used to do and I had a blast doing them.

We left the reception at around 10:15 pm or so after saying our goodbyes to each of our sweet cousins.

You and I both know that that party just kept on going for a few more hours.

God bless those twenty somethings.

What I’d really love, is to get back some of that twenty-something energy.

wedding cake

I’ll just share this one photo (iPhone pic) of the happy couple feeding each other wedding cake.

I’m so glad I could be there this past weekend.

I happily ate almost my entire, generously-sized piece of cake.

In fact, I completely indulged this weekend.

So, let’s just say it’s back to eating healthy and preparing some delicious vegetables to go along with our dinner tonight.

Like these roasted carrots with fresh dill, which are really similar to this dish, just minus the parsnips.

If they don’t go over too well with the littles tonight, I’m going to turn them into a roasted carrot soup for my lunch tomorrow.

adding olive oil to fresh carrots

I washed 12 carrots and cut them on the diagonal.  Then, they were placed onto a baking sheet and I drizzled about 2 tbsp of olive oil onto them.  You’ll be using your hands to toss them in the olive oil, so have a clean towel ready.

adding salt to carrots

Add 1 1/4 tsp of kosher salt to the carrots.

adding ground black pepper to carrots

Add a 1/2 tsp of ground black pepper to the carrots.  Use your clean hands to toss the carrots so that they are evenly coated with the salt and black pepper.

roasted carrots

Roast the carrots in a 400 degree oven for 25 minutes or until they are soft in the middle.  The carrots will shrink while they are roasting so don’t cut them too small.

roasted carrots finished with fresh dill

Toss the roasted carrots with 2 tbsp of minced fresh dill.

Recipe adapted from the barefoot contessa cookbook and may be found here.

Roasted Carrots

Ingredients

12 carrots
2 tablespoons good olive oil
1 1/4 teaspoons kosher salt
1/2 teaspoons freshly ground black pepper
2 tablespoons minced fresh dill

Method

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

If the carrots are thick, cut them in half lengthwise; if not, leave whole. Slice the carrots diagonally in 1 1/2-inch-thick slices. Toss them in a bowl with the olive oil, salt, and pepper. Transfer to a sheet pan in 1 layer and roast in the oven for 20-25 minutes, until lightly browned and tender.

Toss the carrots with minced dill.  Adjust seasonings, if needed and serve.

Yield: 6 servings

Allison

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

