Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

strawberry cornmeal cupcakes

Since I’m getting back on track with blogging (Oh, my poor, neglected blog), I thought I’d better keep things short and sweet today.

Get it…sweet?

Today’s post features these strawberry cornmeal cupcakes.

With the end of the summer vacation quickly approaching (it’s like 14 more days!), I thought I’d play in the kitchen and do some baking for my family.

They don’t usually go for fruit inside a cupcake, but who knows, they just may like it. Or, love it.

I was also thinking of making homemade strawberry jam.

I’ve always fancied myself a future jam-maker, but I’m a little intimidated by the whole process.

If I have any luck with the jam, I’ll share it with you.

If you feel like sharing any jam making tips, please do so.  Pretty please.

Have you made freezer jam?  I’ve heard that’s really easy.

strawberry cornmeal cupcake

To to see the original recipe, click here.

Strawberry Cornmeal Cupcakes

Ingredients

2/3 cup flour
1/4 cup cornmeal
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 tablespoon finely grated lemon zest
1/2 cup EVOO
3 tablespoons whole milk
1/2 cup chopped strawberries
Confectioners’ sugar, for dusting

Method

Preheat oven to 350 degrees . Line muffin pan with paper liners. In bowl, whisk flour, cornmeal, baking powder and salt. Using electric mixer, beat sugar, eggs and zest on medium speed for 5 minutes. Beat in EVOO and milk. Add flour mixture; beat just until blended. Divide among muffin cups, filling halfway. Sprinkle strawberries on top. Bake until toothpick comes out clean, 20 to 25 minutes. Dust with confectioners sugar. Serve warm.

Yield: 1 dozen

Allison

