Tags

, , , , , , , ,

heirloom tomato and watermelon saladHave your children headed back to school yet?

Mine have two more weeks and the days and weeks have just flown by.  I’ll have some best of summer photos to share with you soon, but in the meantime we are trying to pack in as many fun things as possible before the first day of school.

I think my two obsessions this summer have been flowers (especially hydrangeas) and tomatoes.

My own tomatoes have been so-so, partly because we had an extremely rainy July. I don’t think they enjoyed being flooded out of their raised beds on a weekly basis. Sadly, we’ve only enjoyed a few handfuls from our garden.

Speaking of the garden, I’ve not properly tended to it this summer and it shows.

It’s a good thing we are not neighbors because I’d be so embarrassed to have you over.

One thing I do need to add to our yard are several hydrangeas bushes.  They make the most beautiful cut flowers, don’t you think?

As luck would have it, Trader Joes had these pretty hydrangea stems and I could not pass them up!  Maybe next year, I can just cut them from my own yard.

If we were neighbors, I’d let you cut some for your house too.

hydrangeas in a pitcher

Butterflies are everywhere right now (love that!) and Miss Abby and I happened upon this flowering lantana covered in butterflies.  It’s an iPhone pic, so it’s not as awesome as it could be.

lantana butterfly bush

Well, now that I’ve bored you with my flower pics, let’s get back to the heirloom tomato and watermelon salad.

I’ve kept it very light.  No vinaigrette, though you could add one if you like.

I wanted to taste just the flavors of the heirloom tomatoes and the watermelon with some seasoning and just a pinch of sugar.

As with most things I share, this is easily adaptable.

So, adapt away my friends and make it your own.

Here’s hoping you can walk right out to your garden and use those beautiful tomatoes in this salad.

Don’t forget the basil!

heirloom tomato and watermelon salad

Heirloom Tomato and Watermelon Salad

Ingredients

2 large heirloom tomatoes, cored and cut into quarters

2-3 cups watermelon, cubed

Kosher salt

fresh ground black pepper

granulated sugar

1/4 of a large red onion

2-3 tbsp feta cheese, diced or crumbled

fresh basil

Method

In a medium mixing bowl, add the tomatoes and watermelon.  Sprinkle with salt, pepper and a little granulated sugar.  Let sit for 10 minutes.

Add remaining ingredients.

Serve at room temperature.

Serves: 4 as a side dish

Allison

 

 

 

 

