Tags

, , , , , , ,

cucumber and sugar snap pea saladA slight nervousness has been building up inside of me.

Have you had that feeling before?

It’s that sense that something big is going to be happening soon.  It used to feel so far away, but it’s been creeping a little closer each day.

While many that I’ve spoken to are nervous about sending their precious, little one off to Kindergarten, I’m sending my not-so-little-one off to middle school.

I remember feeling very excited to see him dressed in his uniform and help him fill up his Pottery Barn Kids (monogrammed by the way) backpack for the first day of Kindergarten.

I have to admit I don’t feel that same sense of joy as we approach the first day of middle school.

I have to sort through these emotions in the next 9 days.

On the one hand, I’m excited to watch him take a few more steps on his journey through childhood.

But, on the other hand I’m just plain nervous for him.

Will he be able to keep up with the pace of his classes?  Will he be liked?  Will he make some lasting friendships?

More importantly, will he look back on these middle school years with fondness or something worse?

Whew, one momma can have so many fears.  Can you tell?

I’ve been working my way through my apprehensions all week long.  My boys have been at day camp (having a marvelous time, by the way) and I’ve kept myself busy with daily work-outs and time spent in the kitchen.

Both are good for the soul.

Last night I spoke to a friend for some good old fashioned encouragement and in the midst of our conversation she said just to pray about it. And, so I have been doing that.

Now, my to-do list today looks like this: take Abby for a long walk, finish laundry, pray for my children, bake really good chocolate chip cookies, organize the toy closet (ugh) and pray again.

And, now that I’ve got that out, I think we should talk about this cucumber and sugar snap pea salad I made recently.  It’s from Southern Living magazine and I just about stuffed myself with it when it was finally finished.  

cucumber and sugar snap saladNo fear if you don’t have sugar snap peas, try replacing them with jicama or some other lovely veggies that are sitting in your vegetable drawer.

I don’t use jicama very much, but now I want to try it in this salad.  It’s so refreshing.

Recipe by Southern Living Magazine, August 2013.  To see the original recipe, click here.

Cucumber and Sugar Snap Pea Salad

Ingredients

1/4 cup Greek yogurt
1/4 cup sour cream
1 garlic clove, minced
2 tablespoons chopped fresh mint
1 tablespoon chopped fresh dill
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 ounce feta cheese, crumbled
1 cup fully cooked shelled frozen edamame (green soybeans), thawed
1 cup fresh sugar snap peas, cut into 1/4-inch pieces
1/2 English cucumber, diced (about 1 cup)
2 celery ribs, diced (about 1 cup)
6 to 8 radishes, cut into thin strips (about 1/3 cup)
1/4 cup finely chopped red onion

Method

Stir together first 7 ingredients in a small bowl; stir in feta cheese.

Toss together edamame and next 5 ingredients in a large bowl. Stir yogurt mixture into vegetable mixture. Serve immediately, or cover and chill up to 4 hours.

Yield: 8 servings

Allison

