Tags

, , , , ,

confetti corn recipe

I think a few days back I told you about my camera woes.

For a girl with minimal camera skills and very limited technology no-how, it was a big blow.

I’m happy to report that dental floss saved the day.

Yes, dental floss.

Glide dental floss to be exact.

The reason I bring this up (when we are supposed to be talking about turning fresh corn into confetti corn), is I’m still working my way through some iPhone pics.

The above would be one of them.  Can you tell?

Thank you so much for bearing with me.  You’ve been really fantastic about it and not too hard on me regarding the quality of my images recently.

If we were together right now, we’d probably hug.

I’d love to say that I grew the corn.  I didn’t.  However, I grew the the bell pepper and the basil.

This is a favorite summer recipe of mine.  I look forward to making it when fresh corn is abundant and cheap.

Confetti Corn

Recipe adapted from Barefoot Contessa Back to Basics by Ina Garten.  You can view the original recipe here.

Ingredients

2 tablespoons good olive oil
1/2 cup chopped red onion
1 small orange bell pepper, 1/2-inch diced
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
Kernels cut from 5 ears yellow corn (4 cups)
1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
2 tablespoons julienned fresh basil and minced fresh parsley leaves

Method

Heat the olive oil over medium heat in a large saute pan. Add the onion and saute for 5 minutes, until the onion is soft. Stir in the bell pepper and saute for 2 more minutes.

Add the butter to the pan and allow it to melt. Over medium heat, add the corn, salt, and pepper and cook, stirring occasionally, for 5 to 7 minutes, until the corn just loses its starchiness. Season to taste, gently stir in the basil or other green herbs, and serve hot.

Serves: 6

Allison

