Tags

, , , , , , , ,

provencal chicken with vegetables

Is October really in full swing already?

My gosh, the last six weeks have just flown by and here we are together about to embark on the fourth Mondays on Main St.

I’m so glad you are here today and starting off your week by visiting my little corner of the web.

Before we get started on Provencal chicken with vegetables, I’ve been spending some time on defining my personal goals.  Have you done that before?  Had a real heart-to-heart with yourself?

I think I’ve fallen into a rut or a little crash and burn.

I don’t think I’ve ever realized some of my goals.  And, I’ve begun to make a list (it’s small, of course) of what those really are.

I’m married and I have healthy children, so those dreams have been realized.  I’m so grateful for each of them.

First, I made a huge, crazy list for like, the rest of my life.  And then I broke it down into more manageable chunks.

Finally, I asked myself…could I achieve any goals for myself by the end of the calendar year?  That’s a little “chunk,” right? I think I can do this.

I want to challenge myself.  I can’t believe I just wrote that here on my blog.

Maybe it’s a way to keep myself accountable.  I’m responsible for me, after all.  I don’t want to depend on others to help achieve those goals.  There would surely be no point in that, nor would it be satisfying.

Stay tuned for more on goal-setting and little bits of inspiration.  If I uncover anything really amazing I’ll share it with you too.

Let us move on to today’s Monday’s on Main St. recipe.  It’s a good one.

provencal chicken with vegetablesprovencal chicken with vegetables

provencal chicken with vegetables

Recipe adapted from here.

Provencal Chicken with Vegetables

Ingredients
1 pound carrots, peeled, halved crosswise then lengthwise (and quartered lengthwise if thick)
2 large onions, quartered, layers separated
1 tablespoon olive oil
4 bone-in, chicken breast halves (skin removed)
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
1 teaspoon dried Herbes de Provence or thyme
Coarse salt and ground pepper
1/4 cup fresh thyme, chopped and additional sprigs for garnish (optional)
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
Method
Preheat oven to 475 degrees, with rack in top position. On a rimmed baking sheet, toss carrots and onions with oil. Push vegetables to sides of sheet, and place chicken in center. In a small bowl, combine Dijon and Herbes de Provence. Spread mixture oven chicken. Season chicken and vegetables with salt and pepper.
Roast until an instant-read thermometer inserted in thickest part of chicken  registers 165 degrees, 30 to 35 minutes, tossing vegetables once. Transfer chicken to a serving platter, and tent with aluminum foil to keep warm.
Roast vegetables begin to brown about 10 minutes more. Remove baking sheet from oven; add fresh thyme and lemon juice, and toss. Serve chicken alongside vegetables.
Serves: 4
Allison
