Tags

, , , , ,

banana breadWell, hello there!

This is a little long, so if you are just in the mood for baking (I get it!) and don’t have time to read, please skip ahead.

In yesterday’s post (part of the Mondays on Main St. series), I shared a little on goal setting.  And, I don’t mean setting a goal to match up the socks that are missing their partners.  I mean real-life goals.  The kind that improve your life or maybe the lives of others (family, friend or a stranger).

This is such an awkward time to set goals with the holidays approaching.  I even thought to throw this whole idea out until January 1, but then I’d just be prolonging what I really need to work on right now.

My goal this week has to do with my calendar, which is under the umbrella goal of “being more organized.”

I don’t want to just set a goal of “getting organized.”  What does that mean really?

I wrote lists this morning…of goals that I might be able to accomplish during October and suddenly it came to me.  My monthly calendar.

This is an area that I sometimes am on top of and other times, not at all.  With children and after school activities, volunteering at school and their sports schedules, you would think I would be a master at keeping my calendar.

I am not.

So, my goal this week is to work on my calendar.  When commitments are made, I want to immediately add them to my calendar.  I’m also scheduling 10 minutes onto my calendar (every Sunday) to review the week ahead.

No more post-it notes stuck near our “command station” with dates and times on them.  Or, electronic notes on my phone that never quite make it onto my calendar.

Anyone else find themselves in this scenario?

Any suggestions for managing one’s calendar?

best ever banana bread

If you find yourself with some open time on your calendar, perhaps you could try this recipe from Tori Ritchie for her best-ever banana bread.

There is a really sweet (and very quick) story that goes along with her recipe, you can find that here.

best ever banana bread

Best-Ever Banana Bread

Recipe adapted from cookbook author, Tori Ritchie.

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup sugar
pinch salt
4 teaspoons baking powder
2 large eggs
1/4 cup vegetable oil plus 1/2 cup buttermilk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 ripe bananas, mashed with a fork
1/2 cup each chopped walnuts or chocolate chips

Method

Preheat an oven to 350°F.

In a big bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, salt and baking powder. In another bowl or measuring cup, whisk the eggs, oil, buttermilk and vanilla. Pour into the dry ingredients and stir until just moistened. Add mashed bananas and chocolate chips; stir until blended.

Pour into a greased 9×5-inch loaf pan, top with chopped walnuts and bake until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean, about 50 minutes.

Cool completely on a rack. Store, wrapped well, for up to 3 days.

Yield: 1 loaf

Allison

