Tags

, , , , , , ,

cranberry relish with fresh gingerMy goodness this week has just gotten away from me.  Isn’t it always like that at this time of year?

We sort of relaxed our way through the Thanksgiving weekend, getting up late, enjoying leisurely breakfasts, visiting several local museums and enjoying every minute of our time together.

I’ve known we have a week less this year, but staring at it on my calendar has made it so much more real and I’ve got to get moving.

The good news is that I know I’m not the only one.  Well, that’s what I’ve been telling myself.

Anyone else feeling behind? 

Yesterday, my wonderful husband strung garlands of Christmas lights on our home and I hung many a wreath on our front windows.

We use a mixture of fresh and faux on the outside and inside of our home.

The one brilliant thing I did was to purchase a fresh, boxwood wreath from Trader Joes just before Thanksgiving.

I’m so glad I did because they are all gone.  My fellow shoppers know a good deal when they see one!

Before I progress with Christmas preparations here on Main St., I thought I’d share a few things from our Thanksgiving.  If you follow me on Instagram, you may have seen a few pics already and one of me (I rarely include myself in any photos)!

cranberry relish with fresh ginge

I made this cranberry relish, but added 2 inches of fresh ginger to the bowl of my food processor and a splash of Cointreau.

balsamic roasted brussels sprouts

I don’t make a lot of brussels sprouts, but added these balsamic-roasted brussels sprouts to our Thanksgiving menu and I’m so glad I did.  You can find the recipe here.  The addition of pancetta and the balsamic vinegar were just perfect.

Thanksgiving table setting

I set the table well in advance this year and that made things quite easy while I was in the kitchen finishing up each of the side dishes.  I used this recipe for our roast turkey this year and it was just right.

My inspiration for my table came from the November issue of Southern Living Magazine and this beautiful table set by designer James Farmer.  Now, mine is not quite as fancy, but I happily used my growing collection of vintage blue and white china from Furnivals, and brought out my sterling flatware for our meal.  The linen table cloth is vintage and belonged to my great Aunt Sophie.

ideas for setting the table for Thanksgiving Here’s another little look at our table.  The silver chargers are from Michael’s and the woven chargers are from Target, along with the linen, hemstitch napkins.

how to create a flower arrangement in a mint julep cupThis year I decided to take my mint julep cups (all are from Restoration Hardware) and create floral arrangements for each.  It’s important to note that I had no idea what I was doing, but read a little about using florist’s foam and how to place the flowers.  I think they turned out not too badly, but there’s lots of room for improvement.

expressing thankfulness on thanksgivingA first for us this year was asking everyone around the table to take a small, lined card (these are from Project Life) and write what they are thankful for.  My boys looked at me a little strangely when it was their turn to share and there was lots of thanks expressed for things like video games and even toilet paper (huh?), but they generally got in on this new tradition this year and we enjoyed hearing all of these sweet sentiments.

I’ll be back this weekend with new recipes and there will be a new Monday’s on Main St. recipe next week!

I hope you all enjoyed your Thanksgiving too!

Allison

