Tags

, , , , , ,

christmas place setting

The last few weeks seemed to have flown by.

I think that’s been my personal theme for 2013.  How about you?

They’ve gone so quickly, I’ve whittled my to-do list down just to those things that were absolutely critical to my family.

Eye doctor appointments…check.

Present shopping…check.

Shipping gifts…check.

Mailing Christmas cards…check.

Packing for a pre-Christmas trip…check.

And, so on.

I had to take my blog off of my weekly get-it-done list.  And, I just hate doing that.

Not only do I miss writing, but I also miss connecting with readers and some really wonderful wordpress bloggers.

In an effort to catch up here at Main St. Cuisine, I thought I’d share just a little bit of our Christmas.  It’s heavy on photos and I’ve linked to just a couple of recipes from Christmas day.

By the way, I’m on Instagram daily (a dream come true for bloggers who stray from their computers, but still want to connect).

christmas cactus wrapped in burlap

 

 

 

I wrapped up the grower’s pot in a piece of burlap and tied with red ribbon. Simple, but really pretty (and, it took no time at all).christmas presents wrapped in gingham paper

My mom wrapped her presents in red gingham paper, jute twine and red berries. She even made her own tags.  She’s really creative and makes her own Christmas cards as well.

spode christmas tree china

I usually display a grouping of Spode Christmas Tree china and have cups and saucers at the ready for coffee, tea or hot cocoa on Christmas day.

christmas table decorations

We had breakfast in the kitchen.  The table was set with place mats and cloth napkins from Williams-Sonoma.  I used red glass plates and everyone had a little sprig of greenery and a candy cane at their place.  My children were thrilled to see candy canes as part of their breakfast!

christmas floral arrangement centerpiece

Here’s a close up of the vintage, wooden box I filled with greenery from our back and side yards.

christmas place setting

I stamped and added names to each tag.  The finished tags were tied onto each candy cane with striped cotton ribbon from Target.

breakfast

I made baked French toast with a pecan crumble and a tri-berry maple syrup for breakfast.  Of course, bacon was on the menu too!

christmas place setting

We ate Christmas dinner in the formal dining room and each year, I have English crackers at everyone’s place.

christmas table decorations

The ivy topiaries were wrapped in burlap (like the cactus) and tied with red grosgrain ribbon.  The table cloth was from April Cornell.

christmas table centerpieces

Here’s a close-up of the wrapped ivy topiary.  I found the topiaries at Trader Joes, but already had the burlap and ribbon in my fabric stash.

003

My husband had one request for dinner and that was for rack of lamb.  I did post a photo of the finished lamb on Instagram, but it wasn’t pretty enough for the blog. You can find the recipe I used here.

plasma car

Certain family members braved the cold weather in between meals and present unwrapping.

As you can see, we ate well and had a joyous Christmas.  I hope your holiday season has been a wonderful one and spent with those you love.

And, just maybe you’ve taken a few things off of your must-do list as well.

I’ll be back with a few more posts before the end of 2013!

Allison

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

