Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

roasted cranberries with vanillaHello and thanks for stopping in today.

Last night I had a dinner date with my youngest.

We ate out at one of his favorite restaurants.

I enjoyed a delicious salad and he had a plate of pasta.  He’d eat pasta every night if he could.  Had I mentioned that before?

We wrapped up the evening by playing cards and snuggling together in his bed.

The only thing that could have made his evening better (according to him) was if it had snowed today and stuck.  A snow day!

As my children get older and I continue on this little parenting journey my husband and I embarked on ten or so years ago, I find I’m wanting little things like snow days too.

I want more chances to play with them.  More opportunities to prepare hot cocoa and top off each mug with a homemade marshmallow.

Movie nights in our great room with freshly popped popcorn and everyone snuggled under wool blankets sound so good.  I’m craving those things lately.

As they get older, I’m wanting more time with them.  Little nothing moments seem really big to me these days.

This weekend, I’ve got some special breakfast recipes set aside.  My oldest mentioned nonchalantly that he loves when we all sit together and have a big breakfast.  I heard him and I want to ensure that that will happen.

I love when they share those little things with their Mommas.  It’s a gift.

Speaking of breakfast, I have a feeling that you’ve got a bag of cranberries hiding out in your freezer.

I’ve got just the recipe for you today.  And, it’s so easy.

cranberry sauce ingredients

To begin, heat your oven to 425 degrees.  Add 4 cups of fresh cranberries (or frozen), 3/4 cup of granulated sugar, zest and juice of 1 orange, 1/2 cup of water and 1 vanilla bean to a roasting pan.

cranberry sauce

Give this a quick stir before placing into your oven.

roasted cranberries with vanillaYou’ll roast them in the oven for about 20 minutes, stirring half-way through. You’re going to love the vanilla scent when you open the door.  Speaking of vanilla, when you remove the pan from the oven.  Pull out the vanilla bean using tongs. When it cools, slit it lengthwise with the sharp point of paring knife and add the tiny seeds back into the roasting pan, stirring them to distribute evenly.

roasted cranberries over yogurtI topped plain Greek yogurt with a couple of spoonfuls of the roasted cranberries, grated a little more orange zest and garnished with a small sprig of fresh rosemary.

Okay, there was no rosemary in the recipe, but it just looked pretty.  Don’t you agree?

Roasted Cranberries with Vanilla

Ingredients

4 cups fresh or frozen cranberries

3/4 cup granulated sugar

zest and juice of 1 orange

1 whole vanilla bean

1/2 cup water

Method

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Add all ingredients to a roasting pan.  Roast in oven for about 20 minutes, stirring halfway.  Remove pan from oven and using tongs, remove the vanilla bean.  When cool enough to handle, use the point of a paring knife to slit the vanilla bean lengthwise.  Add the seeds back into the cranberries, stirring to combine.

Yield: About 1 cup

Allison {Main St. Cuisine}

