Tags

, , , , , , ,

sweet potato soupHello there!

Last week got just plain got away from me.

Or was it that I’ve decided to hibernate until spring decides it’s going to show up?

I can’t seem to warm myself up this winter.

This California girl living in the south (where I thought it would never dip below 40), doesn’t walk out of the house without a hat and scarf these days.

It’s just too cold.

As I sat at baseball practice (bundled up to my eyebrows), I checked the weather and lo and behold, we’ve got some snow in the forecast.

And, it’s spread over two or three days.

By the way, I’ve never discussed the weather more on my blog than this very winter.

Those of you in really cold parts of the world are certainly rolling their eyes, but this is atypical for this part of the country.

On the positive side, I suppose we’ll just be enjoying more hot cocoa and s’mores by the fire this week.

There won’t be any complaining about that.

In honor of our impending snow and ice, I thought I’d share a recipe for sweet potato soup as part of the Mondays on Main St. series.

So, let’s begin.

sweet potato soup

Begin by heating 1 tbsp olive oil in a Dutch oven over medium heat.  Add  2 minced garlic cloves, 1 chopped sweetonion, 4 cups diced sweet potatoes, and 1 1/2 cups chopped carrots. Cook and stir until the onions turn translucent, but do not brown.

sweet potato soup

Add 3 3/4 cups vegetable stock and bring to a boil.  Lower the heat, cover, and simmer for 25 minutes or until the vegetables are tender, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat and puree the soup in the bowl of a food processor.  Taste and adjust seasonings with kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper.

sweet potato soup You can garnish the soup with homemade croutons as I did and/or roasted carrot ribbons.  Or, a little fresh parsley would add a pretty pop of green.

sweet potato soup

I’ll see you later this week with some sweet treats that I didn’t get to share last week, but are perfect for Valentine’s Day.

Sweet Potato Soup with Homemade Croutons and Roasted Carrot Ribbons

Ingredients

1 tbsp olive oil

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 large sweet onion, chopped

4 cups, diced sweet potatoes

1 1/2 cups, chopped carrots

3 3/4 cups vegetable stock

kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

Method

Heat the olive oil in a Dutch oven over medium heat.  Add the garlic, onion, sweet potatoes and carrots.  Cook and stir until the onions become translucent.  Add the vegetable stock and bring to a boil.  Reduce the heat, cover and simmer for 25 minutes or until carrots and potatoes are tender.  Ladle soup into the bowl of a food processor and puree until smooth.  Return the soup to the Dutch oven and reheat over low heat.  Taste and adjust seasonings.

Garnish with homemade croutons and roasted carrot ribbons if desired.

Yield: 6 servings

Kitchen Note: To make carrot ribbons, preheat oven to 400.  Create ribbons with a vegetable peeler and toss with a little olive oil.  Roast in oven for 5 minutes, remove and carefully toss and return to oven for 2-3 more minutes.  Time may vary depending on the thickness of the carrots.

Allison {Main St. Cuisine}

