Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

choco mallow candy

Do you believe in miracles?

While I usually reserve this blog to discuss recipes and the goings-on in our little family (you know…the fun stuff), today I thought I’d share something more personal.

You see, I have a friend in the hospital.

This is someone who is more like family than friend.

I’ve been praying hard for a miracle these past few weeks.

The kind that defy all logic and reason.

Today, I received some news that things are looking up and the medical team is feeling optimistic.  I’m counting that news alone as a small miracle.

Sometimes, it hurts my heart to pray that hard and care that much, but I think I’m making a difference.  So, I’m going to keep at it.

I’m going to force myself to feel the fragility of the situation, although it makes me really uncomfortable.

I’m grateful for this friend.  This delightful, funny person who can find humor in the ickiest of situations and tell you “It’s not that bad.”

I hope you have a friend like that.  You need someone like her in your corner.

If I could be with her right now, I’d bring her this candy and she’d say something like, “You didn’t need to go to so much trouble”

And, I’d say, “I’ll put it over here for you to try later.”  And then we’d begin talking about lots of things and she’d ask what the boys are up to and when the first baseball game of the season is scheduled.

I’d think to myself, what a blessing to have a friend like this.  The conversation would just continue on about all the lovely, messy mundane things in our life.

toasting walnuts

To start,  toast a 1/2 cup chopped walnuts.  Take a look at this quick how-to on toasting nuts on the stove top if you’ve not done it before.

chopping chocolate

I used 3 bars of Ghirardelli dark chocolate that I chopped with my chef’s knife.  I also added an additional handful of semi-sweet chocolate chips to get the 2 2/3 cups of chocolate needed for the recipe.

melting chocolate with whipping cream

In a microwave safe bowl, place the chopped chocolate, 1/2 cup whipping cream, 2 tbsp light corn syrup, 1 tsp vanilla, and 1 tsp instant espresso powder.  I used 30-second intervals on high power and stirred the mixture in between each interval.  It took 1 1/2 minutes in my microwave (yours may be different).

melted chocolate and whipping cream

Stir well to blend the chocolate-whipping cream mixture.  And, try not to sample too much.

spreading chocolate in baking pan

Spread 3/4 cup of the melted chocolate in an 8 x 8 baking pan that’s been lined with parchment paper (and greased).

adding marshmallows and walnuts to chocolate

Distribute the 1/2 cup toasted walnuts and 1 cup of mini marshmallows over the melted chocolate.

adding more melted chocolate to candy

Spread the remaining melted chocolate over the marshmallows and walnuts.  Now, place the baking pan into the refrigerator for about 1 hour to set the chocolate.

choco-mallow candy

Loosen the candy from the edges of the pan and bring to room temperature.  Lift it out by pulling up on the parchment paper.  Cut into small (or large) squares.

choco-mallow candy

What else could you imagine putting into this deliciously simple candy?  Pretzels or dried cranberries maybe.  How about making one layer out of melted peanut butter chips?

Let me know how it goes.

You can view the original recipe from King Arthur Flour by clicking here.

Choco-Mallow Candy

Ingredients

2 2/3 cups chopped dark chocolate or chocolate chips
1/2 cup heavy or whipping cream
2 tbsp light corn syrup
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 tsp instant espresso powder
1 cup mini marshmallows
1/2 cup chopped walnuts, toasted

Method

Line an 8″ x 8″ square or 9″ round pan with parchment, and grease the parchment. Combine the chocolate, cream, espresso powder, corn syrup, and vanilla in a microwave-safe bowl.  Heat the mixture in the microwave (or in a saucepan set over low heat on the stove) till the cream is hot and the chocolate has softened.

Remove from the heat, and stir until the chocolate has melted and everything is smooth.  Spread about 3/4 cup of the melted chocolate mixture in the bottom of the prepared pan.  Space the marshmallow and toasted walnuts evenly atop the chocolate.  Spread the remaining chocolate atop the marshmallows and walnuts, spreading to the edge of the pan so that everything is covered.

Refrigerate for an hour or so, to set the chocolate. Remove from the refrigerator, and loosen the candy from the edges of the pan.   Bring to room temperature, and leave in the pan, covered with plastic, till you’re ready to cut into squares.

Yield: 3 dozen small squares

Sharing With: Savvy Southern Style

Allison {Main St. Cuisine}

