Tags

, , , , , , , ,

meatballs with pancettaWell, hey there!

A show of hands on who is ready for spring to make it’s official arrival.

Wait, raise them up high.  I want to ensure I get the right count.

Snow, sleet, and ice have just strode into town like they own the place.  They’re so bossy like that.

We were shamelessly teased in the south yesterday with temperatures hovering around 70 degrees.  I threw some flip flops onto my non-pedicured feet and unabashedly paraded my white-as-snow legs around my neighborhood as I took Miss Abby for a stroll.

Today is a different story.  It’s 26 right now and getting colder by the hour.

I’d almost rather have the snow so we could have something fun to do tomorrow. Sleet and ice just aren’t as fun.

I just realized I made a declaration last month that I wasn’t going to discuss the weather her on Main St. and I just broke down and complained about it talked about it.  Again. 

Let’s move onto meatballs.

Like meatballs with diced pancetta and freshly grated Parmesan cheese.

This is the perfect little comfort food recipe to get your week off to a great start, especially if the snow is falling right now.

And, to keep me from further complaining about the weather, I’m going to share the recipe below.

homemade beef meatballs with pancetta

Homemade Meatballs with Pancetta

Ingredients

2 tsp olive oil

3 garlic cloves, minced

3 cups of cubed Italian bread (bite-sized cubes work best)

3/4 cup milk

2 lbs dry-aged ground beef

4 slices pancetta, diced

1 tsp dried oregano

1 tsp dried basil

1 1/2 cups freshly grated Parmagiano-Reggiano cheese

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

Method

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Line two baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside.

In a small skillet over medium heat, heat the olive oil.  When hot, add the minced garlic and cook until softened but not colored.  Remove garlic from skillet and let cool slightly.

In a medium bowl, add cubed bread and milk.  Let bread absorb the milk.

In a large bowl, add the ground beef, pancetta, oregano, basil, cheese, cooled garlic, eggs and bread mixture.  Season with kosher salt and 1 tsp ground black pepper.

Use a cookie scoop to create 2-2 1/2-inch meatballs and place them evenly spaced onto the prepared baking sheets.

Bake for 30 minutes or until a meat thermometer reads 165 degrees F.

Serve alongside your favorite pasta and sauce.

Yield: 24 meatballs

Allison {Main St. Cuisine}

 

 

 

