Tags

, , , , , , , ,

slow cooked pot roast Sometimes being a momma keeps me up at night.

The worries.  The fears.  The big question, “Am I doing any of this right?”

I began writing this post several days ago.

And then I stopped.

I have all of these fears of not doing anything right, including the daily moments of mothering my children.

I hate the feeling of am I doing enough?

It’s an ugly voice that creeps inside and can wreck your entire day or your entire sleepless night.

I’ve decided to come up with a list of the things I think I’m doing well and where I’d like to improve.  I know I’d like to laugh more with them and scold less.  Sort of the “pick my battles” philosophy.

One of the little items that always has me in a tizzy (sp?) is the fact that they’re growing way too fast and of course, that’s out of my control.  I want to appreciate the stage and age they’re each in and enjoy it more.

Oh, and I plan to share that little list here this month.  Why not?

One of the things that will be part of my list is feeding my family.  I think I do that pretty well and it’s one of the things I think they’ll remember when they leave the nest.  Hopefully, it will bring them home for frequent visits.  We’ll see.

Since it’s Monday, how about pulling out your slow cooker and preparing this pot roast for your family this evening?

I know it’s still cold where you are, so this Mondays on Main St. recipe will be perfect for supper.  But, if you’re in the mood for roast chicken instead then click here.

vegetables for pot roast

Begin by peeling and quartering two onions and cutting 8 carrots into thirds.  I didn’t bother peeling them, just washed them to save time.

vegetables for pot roast

Mix 1 tbsp of cornstarch with 2 tbsp of water and place in the bottom of your slow cooker.  Placed onions and carrots on top and then season with kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper.

browning pot roast

Now, the important part.  Are you ready?  Place a Dutch oven over medium-high heat and when the pan is hot add 2 tbsp of olive oil.  When the oil is hot, add your well seasoned roast to the hot pan and brown really well on all sides. Remove the browned pot roast and place on top of the vegetables.  Add 1 cup of red wine to the Dutch oven to deglaze the pan, stirring to get all of the browned bits up.

adding thyme to slow cooker pot roast

Add the reduced red wine to the slow cooker, along with 1 cup beef broth (or water), 1 tbsp worcestershire sauce and 3-4 springs of fresh thyme.  Cook on low heat 6 hours or until roast is very tender.

pot roast slow cooker

Slice the meat against the grain and served with the carrots and mashed potatoes. Doesn’t pot roast just scream “comfort food?”  I think so too.

crock pot pot roast

Did I mention that if you’re in a pinch you can cook it on high for about 4 hours and it should be ready for tonight’s supper?  I don’t think I mentioned that earlier in the post, but it’s true.

Slow Cooked Pot Roast

Ingredients

2 onions, quartered

8 carrots, cut into thirds

4 lbs chuck roast

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp cornstarch

1 cup red wine

1 cup beef broth

1 tbsp worcestershire sauce

4 sprigs fresh thyme

Method

Mix cornstarch with 2 tbsp water and add to the bottom of slow cooker.  Place vegetables on top and season with salt and black pepper.

Season chuck roast well with salt and black pepper.  Add oil to hot Dutch oven over medium-high heat.  When oil is hot, brown the roast for 3-4 minutes per side. Place browned roast on top of vegetables in slow cooker.  Add red wine and stir to loosen browned bits from pot and reduced slightly.  Pour reduced wine over roast, along with beef broth and worcestershire sauce.  Add fresh thyme to slow cooker.

Cook on low heat 6 hours or until meat is very tender.  Cut against the grain and serve sliced pot roast with gravy.  You’ll want to have some good, crusty bread handy to soak up that lovely gravy.

Yield: 4-6 servings

 

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Allison {Main St. Cuisine}

 

 

 

 

 

 

