Tags

, , , , , ,

avocado and cilantro hummusEarlier this month, a whole bunch of school children celebrated Read Across America Day.  It’s a way for all of us (even the grown ups) to celebrate our love for reading and it coincides with Dr. Seuss’s birthday.

Of course, as I explained here, some of us book lovers have one too many books on our nightstands.  There’s no hope in that improving anytime soon.

Isn’t it wonderful to be a reader?

I love transporting myself to far away lands, comprehend what’s behind a character’s motivations or even experience time travel through this recently finished book.

My children love to read too.  And, we make semi-regular trips to our local library, buy books through used book stores and spend way more time than we should at our nearest Barnes & Noble (usually with a scone and hot chocolate in hand).

I love that they’re always ready to discuss what they’d like to read next.

If you were looking for a healthy snack to fortify you for your next reading adventure, maybe this avocado and cilantro hummus would do the trick.

And, it might do well on the buffet table at your upcoming Dr. Seuss-themed birthday party.  Some green food to go along with the green eggs and ham bit. Are you with me?

garbanzo beans and cilantro

So I started with one 15-ounce can of garbanzo beans that I triple rinsed and then added to the bowl of my food processor.  I then add a 1/3 cup of cilantro (discarding the stems).  I whole, ripe avocado (skin removed), 1 clove of garlic1 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil, the juice of one small lemon.

avocado cilantro hummus

Pulse the ingredients in your food processor and then taste and kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper.  Pulse again and taste.  If the hummus isn’t creamy enough, add some water 1 tbsp at a time.

avocado and cilantro hummus recipe

I garnished mine with s wedge of lemon and some additional cilantro.  Serve with fresh veggies or organic tortilla chips.  I love this brand.

Avocado and Cilantro Hummus

Ingredients

1 15-ounce can garbanzo beans, rinsed very well

1 whole, ripe avocado (skin removed)

1 clove garlic, peeled

1/3 cup cilantro leaves

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

juice from 1 small lemon

kosher salt

freshly ground black pepper

Method

Pulse all ingredients in the bowl of a food processor.  Add 1 tbsp of water at a time to adjust texture and creaminess.  Taste and adjust seasonings.

Allison {Main St. Cuisine}

 

 

