Tags

, , , , , , ,

Christmas wreath with red silk bow

Hello.  I’ve been absent here on Main St. for most of 2014.  I really hate that I abandoned my blog this year and took a much longer break than I had ever planned.

Returning this afternoon feels a little awkward and uncomfortable, like when you stop working out and then go back after 6 months or so.

There’s no real reason for my extended absence other than needing to refresh creatively and just the business of being a busy momma of children with a husband that works a lot. And, of course just normal life.

If you stick around today, just know that it’s photo-heavy with not a lot of text.  I had intended to share after everyone went to bed Christmas night, but fell asleep myself (with a half-cleaned up kitchen).

I hope you enjoyed your Christmas as much as we did.  It seems to have gone faster than usual this year since we were a little late with decorating, stringing up Christmas lights, searching for the perfect tree and of course, shopping.

So without further ado, here’s a look at our Christmas Day.

front porchI squished a lot of fresh greenery into the urns that flank our front doors, potted some pansies and gave my favorite rooster a little, plaid bow.

vintage wood caddy with Christmas wrap suppliesRecently I found this vintage, wood caddy, which  held our wrapping supplies this year. I was able to just grab it and take it into any room to wrap.

christmas stockingI still love this whimsical Christmas stocking from Ballard and tied it onto the end of our banister.  The gorgeous ribbon is from Hobby Lobby and was a new addition this year.

paper white bulbs in a vintage blue willow bowlI picked up a brown bag full of paper whites at my favorite nursery and placed them into various blue and white bowls and planters around our home.

nativity with fresh greensWe set up the nativity in the dining room as usual, keeping one of my favorite platters on display (she frequently makes an appearance on instagram) and found the two glass and wicker candle holders at Home Goods.

decorating a Christmas mantle with fresh greensMy Mom made the little, floral arrangements for me and they were popped into a couple of blue and white containers on our mantle.

lantern with pillar candle and fresh cranberries

decorating a Christmas mantle with greenery and pinecones

Christmas Eve in the living room

 

Christmas breakfast place settingI did a simple place setting at the breakfast table for Christmas morning.  The only new additions were the red striped table cloth from Home Goods and the polka dot napkins from Pottery Barn (I think they’re still in stock).

dough bowl filled with Christmas balls

raspberry baked french toastI served raspberry baked French toast from Ina Garten’s new Make it Ahead cookbook.  I served fresh berries with mint, warmed maple syrup, crisp bacon and plenty of freshly brewed coffee.

Christmas dining table with fresh flowersHere’s a peek at our dining table all set for Christmas dinner.  I used more of my Spode Christmas tree plates, crystal candlesticks from Tiffany’s (wedding gift), my Great Grandmother’s cut crystal bowl filled with clementines.  Our sterling flatware was polished up and once again my Mom created the floral arrangements for me. My children look forward to opening an English cracker at dinner every year. It’s one of the Christmas traditions that the adults look forward to as well.

vases filled with flowers for Christmas dinner

 

coconut cupcakesMy Mom’s birthday was Christmas Day and we celebrated with these divine coconut cupcakes that I baked well before the dinner preparations began.  I think my boys look forward to celebrating her birthday as much as she does, complete with lots of candles, making wishes and opening presents.

Thanks again for stopping by!

Allison {Main St. Cuisine}

 

