Tags

, , , , , , ,

twice baked potatoes introWell here are we are mid-week and I’m wondering how much longer it will take to pack away every last bit of my Christmas decor.  So far it’s slow and steady, but a fully decorated tree remains.  I must admit I had hoped it would be gone by last Sunday.

I will probably power through tomorrow afternoon and get it done.  I’ll report back at the end of the week. Fingers crossed.

This past Monday, I shared the very first Mondays on Main St. post for 2015 and promised I’d be back with my recipe for twice baked potatoes.  These are so simple and of course, they could be a meal on their own accompanied by a simple salad of fresh greens and a light vinaigrette.

twice baked potatoesHere are the two medium-sized baking potatoes that I microwaved on high for 7-8 minutes before carefully scooping out the pulp to create the filling.

twice baked potatoes before they are bakedJust before baking, I grated about 1/2 cup of sharp cheddar cheese and divided the cheese evenly on top of the four potato halves.

easy twice baked potatoesOnce they came out of the oven, I topped the the potatoes with a 1/2 tbsp of chopped flat leaf parsley, just to add a little green before I served them.  Not at all necessary, so if you don’t have parsley fans gathered around your table leave it off.

I’ll be back at the end of the week with a recipe for lentil and turkey soup.  Just one look at the weather report tonight made me realize that soup must be on our menu this week.  Stay warm!

Twice Baked Potatoes

Ingredients

2 medium-sized baking potatoes

3 slices bacon, cooked and chopped

1 cup sharp cheddar cheese, shredded and divided

1/2 cup sour cream

2 tbsp buttermilk

2 tbsp unsalted butter

1/4 tsp kosher salt

1/2 tbsp flat leaf parsley, chopped

Method

Scrub potatoes, prick all over with the tines of a fork and place on a microwave safe plate in the center of the microwave. Cook on high for 7 to 8 minutes.

When cool enough to handle, cut potatoes in half and scoop out the cooked pulp and place into a medium-sized mixing bowl. Leave a 1/4-inch “wall” so that the hollowed out potatoes will stand up on their own.

Mash potato pulp and then stir in crumbled bacon, 1/2 cup shredded cheese, sour cream, butter milk, butter and salt.  Spoon potato mixture back into each hollowed out potato half.  Distribute the remaining 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar cheese on top of each potato half.

Place the filled potatoes onto a baking sheet and bake in a 350 degree oven for 15-20 minutes or until the cheese is melted and the potato is heated through.  Top with chopped parsley if desired.

Serves: 4 as a side dish

 

Sharing with Kim over at Savvy Southern Style

Allison {Main St. Cuisine}

 

 

