Tags

, , , , , , ,

turkey and lentil soupHere we are practically at the midpoint of January and it seems the chilly weather has finally and officially hit the Mid-Atlantic part of the US.

Over coffee late morning, I glanced at the weather report on my phone and the forecast was showing a “snow event” for my area this week.  Well, after taking a quick look moments ago I saw that it’s now just replaced with a cloudy day.

I’ll happily take clouds over snow and ice!  I then pondered how much longer until spring makes its arrival.  The first day of spring is March 20, by the way.

It seems I’m already thinking of sandal weather.

I’m certain many of you turn to soup to chase away the winter chill (even if your winter chill is in the mid-fifties) and this is a nice soup recipe to do just that.

If you’ve not prepared lentils, they really are quite simple.  There’s no soaking and they cook up right along with the rest of this soup, making this one you could turn to during the week.

I used leftover turkey that I just fork-shredded, but chicken would be a suitable replacement or make this entirely vegetarian.

turkey and lentil soup

I garnished my soup with chopped flat leaf parsley and served a generous slice of French bread with each serving.  That’s one of the best parts of soup eating..the bread that accompanies your soup.

I’ll be back tomorrow with another Mondays on Main St. recipe for you to try this week.

Turkey and Lentil Soup

Ingredients

1 tbsp olive oil

3 garlic cloves, peeled and minced

2 celery ribs, diced

2 carrots, diced

1 yellow onion, chopped

1 16-ounce can whole tomatoes, chopped and juices reserved

1 bay leaf

1 cup brown or green lentils

6 fingerling potatoes, cut into 1/4-inch thick slices

2 cups cooked turkey, shredded

1 1/2 tsp kosher salt

1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper

chopped flat leaf parsley (optional)

Method

In a Dutch oven, heat the oil over medium heat.  Add the onion, celery and carrots and cook, stirring occasionally until softened, about 7 minutes. Add the minced garlic and cook for 2 minutes more, stirring constantly.  Add the tomatoes, bay leaf, lentils, 2 quarts of water, kosher salt and black pepper.  Raise heat and bring to a boil.   Reduce heat to low and cover pot, leaving lid slightly askew.  Stir occasionally while soup simmers for 1 hour.

Add the sliced potatoes and shredded turkey and cook for 10 minutes or until potatoes are tender.  Discard the bay leaf. Adjust seasonings and garnish with chopped parsley, if desired.

Serves: 6

Allison {Main St. Cuisine}

