Tags

, , , , , , , ,

pan fried steakWelcome to the second edition of Mondays on Main St. for 2015.  If you missed last week’s recipe, you’ll find it right here.

I’ve been on a bit of a roll with adding potatoes to our weekly menus, but so far no complaints.  I suppose that’s not entirely true, since my children won’t even look at a potato, but the grown ups are enjoying them.

Besides cooking this week, I’m catching up on household chores (do those ever stop?) and the cold, rainy weather is lending itself to lots of reading.

I’m pretty certain that if I stayed off of the internet for long enough, I’d get a lot more reading accomplished.  Admittedly I have a hard time with that aspect of technology at our fingertips.

These are the books that I’m either currently reading or on my nightstand.  I’m a big fan of reading two at one time.  Not sure why that is.  I do keep cookbooks on my nightstand.  Does anyone else do that?

yes please

the abstinence teacher

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

make it ahead

orphantrain

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As you can probably tell I don’t always get to a great book right when it’s published.  On that note, I’m probably the only one I know who hasn’t read Gone Girl.  What are you currently reading?  Any recommendations I can add to my list of must -reads?

I’ll return later this week with a recipe for a quick bread.  Until then, enjoy your week!

Pan-Fried Steak with Rosemary-Thyme Potatoes

Ingredients

1 tbsp vegetable oil
2 (8-ounce) top sirloin steaks
Kosher salt
freshly ground black pepper
3 tbsp minced shallots
2 tsp chopped fresh thyme
1/2 cup red wine, such as a Cabernet
1/2 cup unsalted beef stock
2 tsp unsalted butter
1/2 tsp Dijon mustard
fresh thyme and/or fresh rosemary for garnish (optional)
Method

Heat a large skillet over high heat. When ready, add oil; tip pan to coat. Sprinkle steaks evenly with kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper. Add steaks to pan; cook 4 minutes on each side or until a meat thermometer registers 130 degrees. Remove steaks from pan to a clean platter. Tent with foil and let stand.

Reduce heat to medium-high. Add shallots and thyme to pan; sauté 1 minute.  Add wine; cook 2 1/2 minutes or until liquid is not quite evaporated. Add beef stock; cook 3 minutes or until liquid is reduced by half.  Remove pan from heat. Add an 1/8 tsp of salt, an 1/8 tsp pepper, butter, and mustard; whisk until incorporated.

To serve cut steak across the grain into thin slices; plate steaks with sauce. Garnish with fresh thyme.

Rosemary-Thyme Roasted Potatoes

Ingredients

2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
20 ounces whole, red baby potatoes, quartered
3 fresh thyme sprigs
3 fresh rosemary sprigs, leaves removed and chopped
kosher salt
freshly ground black pepper
Additional fresh thyme or fresh rosemary for garnish

Method

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Place olive oil, potatoes, thyme sprigs, and chopped rosemary in a large bowl; using your hands, toss to coat. Arrange potato mixture on a foil-lined, metal roasting pan. Sprinkle evenly with 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt and pepper. Roast at 425 for 25 minutes, stirring halfway. Sprinkle with kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste.  Garnish with herbs if desired.

Allison {Main St. Cuisine}

