Tags

, , , , , , ,

pear and walnut bread

Happy Saturday to you! I’ve been spending a lot of time lately doing three things.

One. I’ve been in the kitchen a lot.  Baking and cooking, of course, but also editing a lot of things from the drawers, cabinets and pantry.  I’ve made more than a few trips to our local Goodwill.

Two. I’ve been working on menus for my business as I hope to return to working as a personal chef in 2015.  I’m sure there will be more on that later, but I’ve been getting that little itch to start up again, while still having the flexibility to cart my children around after school, help with homework and spend some time at my youngest’s school.

Three.  Doing small decorating projects around our house and making lists of things that I’d like to accomplish has kept me busy this month.  Everything from planning for new slipcovers and upholstery, to ordering throw pillows and painting small pieces of furniture is on the list.  

In the meantime, there’s this lovely pear and walnut quick bread that came together in a flash using disposable baking pans.  I found mine at World Market in December but I also see them on Amazon here.  I don’t receive any compensation if you purchase through this link.

We were sent the most beautiful box of fruit, which included pears.  I don’t know what it is with pears, but I never buy them.  I like them, but don’t ever bring them home.  Silly me.

pear and walnut bread in disposable paper pans

Here are a look at the breads fresh from the oven.  I placed the filled, paper pans onto a baking sheet and then into the oven they went.

pear and walnut bread dusted with confectioners sugar

Dusting them with confectioners sugar after they had cooled for a bit seemed like just the right touch.

pear and walnut bread in paper baking pans

I adapted the pear and walnut bread recipe from one I found at Smitten Kitchen. You can find her recipe here.

Pear and Walnut Bread

Ingredients

3 C all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1/2 tbsp ground cinnamon
3/4 cup chopped walnuts
3/4 cup butter, softened
3 eggs, lightly beaten
2 C sugar
3 pears, grated
1/2 tsp almond extract

confectioners sugar for dusting, optional

Method

Heat your oven to 350°F and lightly grease and flour (I used a baking spray) three mini ring pans (they are in the shape of an angel food pan).

Combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon in a large mixing bowl, and whisk to incorporate everything. In a small bowl, place a 1/4 cup of the flour mixture and combine it with the walnuts, stirring to coat the nuts with the flour.

In a medium mixing bowl, combine the softened butter, eggs, sugar, grated pear, walnuts, and almond extract, and stir, mixing everything well.  Add the butter-pear mixture into the flour mixture and stir just until the flour disappears and the batter is evenly moistened.

Quickly divide the batter among the prepared pans, using a soup or other appropriately sized spoon and bake at 350° for 30-35 minutes, or until the breads are lightly browned and a cake tester inserted near the center comes out clean.

Cool the breads in the pans on a wire rack for about 10 minutes.  Dust with confectioners sugar if desired.

Allison {Main St. Cuisine}

