Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

roasted chipotle peach chicken Happy Wednesday!

What could be simpler than coating a couple of pounds of chicken in a sweet and spicy glaze and popping them in the oven for about an hour?

Once this is in the oven you can just put your feet up.  Or, help with homework, fold a load of laundry and take out the recycling. Totally your choice.

I have to admit that when I when I cut into the three or four limes, their scent had me thinking of my feet in the sand, the sound of waves crashing and a long walk on the beach. Can you picture it?

I’ve shared other recipes here using jam as the base for a glaze, like this simple one for peach glazed chicken, but this time I chopped a chipotle pepper, stirred in some fresh lime juice and into the oven she went.

As you’ve come to expect from me, when I share something mid-week, you know it’s going to be easy to pull together so you can get dinner on the table for your family.

fresh lime juiceLet’s begin with juicing 3-4 fresh limes. I’ve used my vintage juicer here, but use whatever is the quickest for you.

chopped chipotle peppers

Rinse your chicken well and pat dry with paper towels.  Season with kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper.

Chop 1 chipotle pepper in adobo sauce.  I also used the tip of a paring knife to lift out the seeds.  I forgot just how many seeds there are inside one pepper. Add the chopped, seeded pepper to 2/3 cup of peach jam and stir in the fresh lime juice.

If you don’t have peach, why not try mango? It will work nicely here.

I simmered the jam-chipotle-lime juice mixture over low heat, until it reduced slightly, stirring to combine.  Remove the pot from the heat and pour over the seasoned drumsticks.  Use tongs to turn each drumstick, coating in the sauce. Roast in a 400° oven for 50 minutes or until a meat thermometer reads 165°.

roasted chipotle peach chickenGarnish each serving with a couple of lime wedges, if desired.

For my children (aka, the picky eaters), I made 4 drumsticks with just a drizzle of olive oil and kosher salt and a little freshly ground black pepper.

To go with the chicken, I made basmati rice (using chicken stock). Once the liquid was absorbed, I added a palmful of chopped cilantro and the juice from two limes. It was the perfect side to accompany the chipotle-peach chicken.  You can take a look at a similar recipe for coriander rice here.

Before I go, any ideas for using the remaining chipotle peppers in adobo sauce? I’m thinking a big pot chili for this Sunday’s Super Bowl.

What dishes do you use chipotle peppers in?

Roasted Chipotle-Peach Chicken

Ingredients

2 lbs chicken drumsticks, rinsed and patted dry

kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

2/3 cup peach jam

1 chipotle pepper in adobo sauce, chopped

1/4 cup plus 2 Tbsp fresh lime juice (or the juice from 4 limes)

lime wedges for garnish

Method

Preheat oven to 400°.

Season chicken with salt and black pepper.  In a small pot over low heat, add the peach jam, chipotle pepper and lime juice, stirring to combine.  Reduce just slightly.

Add chicken to a foil-line baking sheet.  Pour chipotle-peach sauce over chicken, using tongs to turn and coat each drumstick in the sauce.

Roast in the oven for 50 minutes or until the internal temperature of the chicken registers 165° on a meat thermometer.

Garnish individual servings with lime wedges if desired.

Serves: 4-6

Sharing with: Savvy Southern Style

Allison {Main St. Cuisine}

