Tags

, , , , , ,

Easter introI’m very glad you stopped by today.

It’s been a busy week of baseball…games and practices. Luckily the weather has been cooperating.  When games get rained out it makes for some unhappy baseball players around here.

One thing we did not have any of last weekend was baseball.  Well, just the backyard variety but nothing official, so we were able to get ready for Easter and just enjoy some family time.

I realized that I was off my photo-taking game Easter Sunday.  I neglected to grab a family photo and took some magnificently blurry Easter basket photos.

Next year’s photo checklist includes: pre-Easter Sunday basket pics, a good family photo and maybe just one of the parents.  Ha!

blue and white table setting

I played around a lot with blue and white plates of varying sizes.  You can never have too many blue and white dishes in my opinion.  The bunny egg cups are from Pottery Barn (they’re currently on sale!).   The round chargers are from World Market and I don’t see them on their site, just the oval ones.  The table runner is also from World Market.  The napkins are a couple of years old and from Target.  I used a mixture of vintage flatware and my sterling service.

spring flowers in a ginger jar

Here’s another peek at the tulips and hydrangeas in one of my blue and white ginger jars.  There was an amazing selection of flowers at my local Trader Joes last Saturday and found one last bundle of these pretty blue hydrangeas.  There’s something about blue and pink together.

coloring Easter eggs

The youngest was very focused on his Easter eggs.  Give that child a Sharpie and he’s in heaven.  Why his Easter eggs needed faces and mustaches I’m just not sure.

EasterThese two hopped in the car with some speed so we could get to Easter service and find parking (not so easy on Easter).  Later, I realized they were trying to avoid detection on their choice of shoe wear.  It was a mixture of Vineyard Vines and Nikes that morning.  Oh well.

Easter table

I was bringing all of the food to the table (we ate in the kitchen this year since we were a small group) and stopped for a quick photo.  I glazed our ham with a simple mixture of fresh orange juice, chutney, honey, mustard and garlic.  It was delicious and very easy.

lemon and chive deviled eggsLemon-chive deviled eggs were a new addition to the Easter menu this year.  I replaced the usual mayonnaise with creme fraiche and used the zest of one lemon and some snipped chives from the garden. They were light and lemony.

spinach salad with strawberries and chevreI also prepared a simple spinach salad with fresh strawberries, chevre, toasted pecans and a shallot vinaigrette.  Very quick, but one of my favorites.

Easter cupcakes

As if the Easter candy wasn’t enough, I baked vanilla cupcakes and let the boys do the decorating with edible Easter grass and jelly beans.  We enjoyed just letting them create each cupcake.  I wasn’t too crazy about the edible grass (it sort of tasted like paper), but they thought it was pretty cool.

I hope you and your family enjoyed Easter and had beautiful spring weather too.

Thanks for visiting today!

Allison {Main St. Cuisine}