Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

five layer Mexican dip

Thank you for this little indulgence today.

I know that when you visit Main St. Cuisine you expect a recipe, right?

And, I do intend to give you one.  Along with a few photos.

But I also want to catch you up on a few things.  And, that’s what I mean when I use the word indulgence.

Today, I’ve decided to use this little blog of mine as a photo journal of sorts.  I feel guilty that we’re not diving right into today’s recipe, but it’ll be quick. 

Super quick….I promise.

bowl of fresh oranges

I brought this bowl of oranges (Thank you, Florida!) home on Monday and we’ve been working our way through them.  They are so sweet.

I’d like to add some orange flavors into a recipe, but they’re so good on their own.

daffodils

I love when you begin to find daffodils and other spring flowers in buckets at Trader Joes.  Walking into the store and seeing all of those beautiful tulips and daffodils makes the warmer weather feel like it is right around the corner.

Abby

Finally, here is Miss Abby.  I don’t think I’ve talked about her much with you all, but she is the best dog ever.

She is a big fan of the snow and we’ve been having mini snow events here as of late.  She enjoys being outside to watch the sledding while keeping a close eye on squirrels.

She is not, to be very clear, a fan of being hit with a poorly thrown snow oval.  It wasn’t a ball, but more of a snow oval that came her way.

Poor girl.  She moved to the front porch so she could still watch, but from a safe viewing area.

Isn’t she smart?five layer mexican dip

And now a word on today’s recipe.

Actually, two words:  olives and cilantro.

For me, this type of dip always has to have sliced olives and fresh cilantro.  There just isn’t any other way.

Unless of course, you heart guacamole.  Like I do.  Well then you’ve got to have olives, cilantro and guacamole.  That is just the most perfect combination.

Except that when I went to my local grocery store I forgot the olives (ugh) and there was no fresh cilantro to be found.

While prepping the recipe, my sweet husband kindly asked if I would hold the guacamole and so, I did.

My friends, let me encourage you to add in that layer of delicious guacamole.  It really is an important component of this layered dip.  Well, at least I think so.

five layer Mexican dip

There’s no step-by-step photos today because frankly, I was in too much of a hurry to make it and then eat it, which didn’t leave much time to take my usual progression of photos.

Oh, and thank you so much for allowing me to share a little more than just a recipe today.  I’d send you a thank you note, but I don’t have your address.

Five Layer Mexican Dip

Ingredients

1 can refried beans

1 can Rotel tomatoes with green chiles, divided

1 tsp cumin

3/4 cup shredded Jack cheese

3/4 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese

small container of light sour cream

2 Roma tomatoes, seeded and chopped

2 green onions, white and green parts sliced

1 small can sliced black olives

fresh cilantro

Method

In a small sauce pan, warm the refried beans over medium heat and add half a can of Rotel tomatoes and 1 tsp of cumin, stirring until combined.  When the bean-tomato mixture is warmed through, remove from heat and carefully spoon the mixture into a shallow serving dish.  This will create the first “layer.”

Next, add both shredded cheeses to cover the refried beans.  Using the back of a spoon, spread the sour cream over the shredded cheese.

In a small bowl, combine the chopped tomatoes with the remaining Rotel tomatoes.  Add the tomato mixture to the serving dish, spreading to cover.

Sprinkle the green onions and sliced black olives on top.  Add fresh cilantro and serve with tortilla chips.

Allison

